Posted in Young Adult

Dorothy Must Die Stories Vol. I Review

Dorothy Must Die: Stories Vol. I by Danielle Paigedorothymustdievol1

Published: March 3rd 2015 by HarperCollins Publishers

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Summary:

Long before Amy Gumm got swept away from a Kansas trailer park…Dorothy Gale received a package on the night of her 16th birthday: a pair of red high-heeled shoes. Dear Dorothy, the note read. I thought about silver to match the ones you lost, but in the end I decided that red was more your color. I think you know what to do with them.

And with a knock of her heels, Dorothy returned to the magical land that made her a star—and Oz would never be the same again.

This bind-up of three prequel novellas to the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die series follows Dorothy Gale as she transforms from good girl to Wicked Witch. Kiss the land where troubles melt like lemon drops goodbye. Here there’s danger around every corner, and magical shoes won’t be able to save you.

Dorothy Must Die: Stories (Dorothy Must Die, #0.1-0.3)

This volume has short stories #0.1-0.3. The first one is Dorothy’s story on how she got back to Oz and into power, the second one is all about Glinda the Good Witch, and the third one is about the Wizard. I think I’ll break down my review by each story.

No Place Like Oz

Dorothy is back in Kansas and she has basically an attitude from the very first page. This short story does nothing except paint a picture of just how selfish and vain Dorothy is. The only difference between Kansas Dorothy and Dorothy in Oz is that she didn’t have magic. After she discovered that she had magic powers she started using them immediately and didn’t think about the fact that there could be any repercussions.

The Witch Must Burn

At first I was a little excited about this one since it was based upon Glinda. We didn’t really see much of Glinda in the series except when she is mining for magic (really I don’t remember much of her in the series, but it’s also been awhile since I read the first 2 books). So a novella based solely on her was just what we needed! The only problem is that her story was just like Dorothys. Glinda was mean, vain, and manipulative, but there was no backstory as to how she got that way. The only plot in this novella was how the MC became involved with the Wicked, and it was a very predictable plot as well.

The Wizard Returns

I kind of thought this would be about the Wizard leaving Oz and then coming back, but it’s really just him loosing his memories and trying to get them back. So I thought that this story just like the other two were kind of just so so. I don’t think they really helped the series at all, especially in getting a better understanding of who the villains really are in this series.

I felt like these short stories were kind of just meh. I am a little hesitant to read vol II just on how I felt about this volume, and I wonder why there will be a vol III out later this month? It seems as if Paige is going to write more novellas for her series than books!

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

One thought on “Dorothy Must Die Stories Vol. I Review

Leave a Reply

