Posted in Young Adult

Arc TBR Takedown Read-A-Thon Week 3

IMG_3145I started Sam @RiverMoose-Reads Arc TBR Read-A-Thon reading challenge this week, so I am still playing catch up on the weekly blogging posts (luckily I was only 3 behind so after this one I am all caught up).

The first week we were to do our list of Arcs we currently had and I explained the read-a-thon a little bit more fully, you can see my original post here. On my list of TBR Arcs are:

  1. Metaltown by Kristen Simmons
  2. Bad Blood by Dimitria Lunetta
  3. Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault by Candace Robinson
  4. Fallen Flame by J.M. Miller
  5. Dragon Redeemer by Amy Bearce
  6. House of Ash by Hope Cooke
  7. Fall of Thrones and Thorns by Jennifer Ellision
  8. Riot of Storm and Smoke by Jennifer Ellision
  9. The Ghost King by Jeff Altabef

So far, I still haven’t received any news on whether or not I’ve been approved for any more eArcs from NetGalley.


Week 3 (June 15th): Most disappointing Denials

For me, I don’t really get disappointed in being denied. I kind of just shrug it off and say better luck next time. It seems as if I am normally denied on NetGalley from very popular/famous authors, and I am always approved for indie authors. So, if it’s an author  I know that I have very little chance of getting approved of, I don’t put much hope into actually getting it. But who knows, maybe one day I’ll get lucky and get approved for one of those most anticipated books!

I’ve only been using NetGalley for almost 2 years now and I have only been denied 26 times and approved for 52 titles. So, as you can see I am active, but not as much as I would like to be. Maybe that has some impact on whether or not I am approved for certain books.

Some books I was denied that were disappointing to me even though I try not to be were:

  • Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller
  • Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige (I am in the middle of reading this now, and I am really enjoying it)
  • Missing by Kelley Armstrong (one of my favorite authors!)
  • And the Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich
  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber

How do you handle denials from NetGalley or any other similar eArc website? What books have you been denied that was really disappointing?

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

