Posted in Young Adult

Litcube “Sherlocked” December Box Review

Lit-Cube is a monthly subscription box curated by Peggy and her team that sends you a book, a wearable, and other little bookish goodies.

The cost: $29.99/month + $4.99 s/h to U.S. and $14.99 s/h to Canada

 

<–This is what it looks like on the inside, after you first open it! The anticipation is exciting. This months theme was “Sherlocked” and it has all things Sherlockian inside!! I always like their description cards, and this month is no exception!

Check out my other Lit-Cube reviews and book box subscription reviews !

 


I was very surprised to see two hardcover books in our box this month! I didn’t realize there was two until after I pulled them out, because even though I like the info card, I don’t want to be spoiled while I take everything out. Do you read the info cards or wait until after you unbox everything??

Lock & Mori (Lock & Mori #1) by Heather W. Petty

Released: September 15th 2015 by Simon & Shuster Books for Young Readers

Goodreads Summary:

In modern-day London, two brilliant high school students—one Sherlock Holmes and a Miss James “Mori” Moriarty—meet. A murder will bring them together. The truth very well might drive them apart.

Before they were mortal enemies, they were much more…

FACT: Someone has been murdered in London’s Regent’s Park. The police have no leads.

FACT: Miss James “Mori” Moriarty and Sherlock “Lock” Holmes should be hitting the books on a school night. Instead, they are out crashing a crime scene.

FACT: Lock has challenged Mori to solve the case before he does. Challenge accepted.

FACT: Despite agreeing to Lock’s one rule—they must share every clue with each other—Mori is keeping secrets.

OBSERVATION: Sometimes you can’t trust the people closest to you with matters of the heart. And after this case, Mori may never trust Lock again

This book has a retail value of $17.99, but you can find it on Amazon for $12.14.

The book itself looks very interesting, and something that I would enjoy reading a lot! My only complaint is that there is a slit in the jacket on the top right corner. At least it’s small and hopefully won’t get any bigger!

 

Lock & Mori Mind Games (Lock & Mori #2) by Heather W. Petty

Published: December 6th 2016 by Simon & Shuster

Goodreads Summary:

Sherlock Holmes and Miss James “Mori” Moriarty may have closed their first case, but the mystery is far from over in the thrilling sequel to Lock & Mori, perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson and Sherlock.

You know their names. Now discover their beginnings.

Mori’s abusive father is behind bars…and she has never felt less safe. Threatening letters have started appearing on her doorstep, and the police are receiving anonymous tips suggesting that Mori—not her father—is the Regent’s Park killer. To make matters worse, the police are beginning to believe them.

Through it all, Lock—frustrating, brilliant, gorgeous Lock—is by her side. The two of them set out to discover who is framing Mori, but in a city full of suspects, the task is easier said than done. With the clock ticking, Mori will discover just how far she is willing to go to make sure that justice is served, and no one—not even Lock—will be able to stop her.

This book has a retail value of $17.99, but you can find it on Amazon for $11.99.

Depending on how the first book goes will determine if I will enjoy this one or not. So I’m crossing my fingers that I do, because the premise sounds really good. So far it has a 4.06 rating on Goodreads, so that is really promising so far.

Look how cute these promotional items are!! The stickers are adorable, and I am thinking of putting them inside my book. What do you do with promotional character stickers?

I decided to put the signed sticker inside the Mind Games book, that way it won’t accidentally get lost.

The wearable this month, are Lit-Cube exclusive Sherlock Holmes socks! This has a retail value of $9.99. Since they were designed just for Lit-Cube subscribers you unfortunately won’t be able to find them anywhere else. Hopefully if they have extras they will sell them on their website.

Sherlock themed tea by First Edition Tea Co. Retail value $3.99

This fits the theme very well, I just wish I liked tea! Maybe I need to subscribe to their Stars Hallow box in order to get coffee products instead of tea!

221 Baker Street keychain – retail value $5.99

This is a cute keychain, a little plain for my tastes, but I have some friends who would really like this for Christmas!

Last, but not least, is this exclusive 2016 Lit-Cube Holiday #bookish ornament. I like the color, but it’s a little hard to see the words unless you are right on top of it. It does give my tree a little something extra!

Overall, this month’s box had an estimated overall value of $44.10. That doesn’t include the ornament or promotional items included in the box. Unfortunately, this will be my last box for awhile for personal reasons and this was a great box to end my subscription with. I loved that there was 2 books included in the box and the socks! One can never have too many socks.

What do you think of this month’s box?

Posted in Subscription Box

Lit-Cube Special Edition “Halloween Eve” Box Review

Lit-Cube is a monthly subscription box that sends you a book, a wearable, and other little bookish goodies.

The cost: $29.99/month + $4.99 s/h to U.S. and $14.99 s/h to Canada

<–This is what it looks like on the inside of the special edition box, after you first open it! The anticipation is exciting. The theme for this box was “Halloween Eve”.

Check out my other Lit-Cube reviews and book box subscription reviews!

 

For a limited edition box (such as this one) it is a little bit more costly. The cost is $44.95 which included shipping and handling. These are one time boxes and are not part of the monthly subscription, I believe they only do 4 boxes a year, but I could be mistaken. This was my second limited edition box, and so far I really like it! I might consider buying more in the future, but that will depend on funds during that particular month!

Unlike my first limited edition box, this one included a description card. I really like when subscription boxes include these, I like to get a sense of what each item is valued.

img_1607

The book for this box is Teen Frankenstein by Chandler Baker. This was published January 12th 2016 by Feiwel & Friends.

Goodreads Summary:

High school meets classic horror in this groundbreaking new series.

It was a dark and stormy night when Tor Frankenstein accidentally hit someone with her car. And killed him. But all is not lost–Tor, being the scientific genius she is, brings him back to life…

Thus begins a twisty, turn-y take on a familiar tale, set in the town of Hollow Pines, Texas, where high school is truly horrifying.

This book retails at $17.99, but on Amazon it is $12.59.

This book was picked to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the penning of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein when she was just 18 years old. Shelley later published it anonymously in 1818, and in 1823 published an edition with her name on it.

I have never heard of this book before, but it is very fitting for a Halloween box! I will definitely make sure I read this one before Monday!

Exclusive Hocus Pocus pajama set – RV $44.95.

I was super excited for this item when I saw it in the packaging. At first I thought it was just a shirt, but it turned out to be something even better!!! (P.S. Sorry for the horrible photo of me wearing the pjs, my husband is not a great photographer and he cut off my head.) These were super soft and I was a little worried that the shorts would be a little too big, but they fit perfectly. My only problem is that I live in south Texas, and the high today was 88 degrees F! Definitely not long sleeve weather. =/

img_1603

Frankenstein Tea Sampler by First Edition Tea Co. -RV $3.99, you can purchase other literary themed teas on their Etsy shop, a sampler bag costs $2.50 in their shop. Maybe this will become available sometime in the future!

This was made exclusively for Lit-Cube. I almost wished I was a tea drinker so that I could try this out! I love pumpkin anything and this looks like it would taste amazing! Maybe I will give this to my good friend who loves tea so that he can tell me the verdict!

img_1605

National Geographic Is It Real? Vampires -RV $19.99, Amazon has this for $4.99.

I am pretty sure that I have seen this on TV randomly, but I don’t think I really need this on DVD. This is probably the least liked item that we received. I wonder if it is on Netflix.

img_1601

Halloween Socks- RV $9.99

How adorable are these socks?? I love socks and these will be a great edition! Great for keeping feet, while not necessarily warm, covered. They can also be used to confuse your big black dog into thinking your foot is your small dog while they are playing.

img_1606

Hocus Pocus magnetic bookmark set by NerdyGrlDesigns, RV $3.25. These particular bookmarks can be bought as a set (which the full set is 5 characters) for $9.15.  They can be bought individually for $3.15, or as a set of 3 for $5.50 in the choose your own characters section. I love Melissa’s shop, and have actually purchased from her before. I actually have my eye on a few more bookmarks that I hope I can convince someone to buy me for Christmas. =D

img_1604

Annie B’s Popcorn & Caramels– RV $2.95

You either received caramel, sea salt caramel, or jalepeno cheddar, each individual bag is $2.00. I am very excited to try these out as I am a huge popcorn fan! The individual caramel candies come in 13 different flavors. You can purchase a bag of 10 for $5.00 or 120 pieces for $60.00, or a few different options. I imagine that Lit-Cube probably bought in bulk, which would make each candy worth $0.50.

Overall this box has a value of $83.52, not bad for a subscription box. This is probably my favorite box I have received from Lit-Cube this year! Not just because the theme is Halloween, but I love almost all of the goodies picked out! I hope I enjoy the book as much as I enjoy the goodies!

What do you think of this boxes curation? What boxes do you subscribe to that had a Halloween theme this month?