Posted in Young Adult

ARC TBR Takedown Read-A-Thon Week 6

img_1422I started Sam @RiverMoose-Reads ARC TBR Read-A-Thon reading last month, and I’m excited that it’s time for another weekly blog post!

The first week we were to do our list of ARCs we currently had and I also explained the read-a-thon a little bit more fully, you can see my original post here.

On my list of TBR Arcs are:

  1. Metaltown by Kristen Simmons
  2. Bad Blood by Dimitria Lunetta
  3. Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault by Candace Robinson
  4. Fallen Flame by J.M. Miller
  5. Dragon Redeemer by Amy Bearce
  6. House of Ash by Hope Cooke
  7. Fall of Thrones and Thorns by Jennifer Ellision
  8. Riot of Storm and Smoke by Jennifer Ellision
  9. The Ghost King by Jeff Altabef
  10. When I Cast Your Shadow by Sarah Porter
  11. Immersed  by Jennetta Penner

So far, I still haven’t received any news on whether or not I’ve been approved for any more eARCs from NetGalley.


Week of July 6th: Explain You Review System/ Review Policy

Everyone has their own way to give star ratings, and I try to be very subjective when giving them out. I think I am very picky when giving out 5 star ratings, and I tend to give more 3 and 4 star ratings than anything else. Below I broke down my star rating system.

5 Stars – LOVED IT!  Would recommend the book to others.

4 Stars – Enjoyable and a great read.

3 Stars – An okay read – did not love it but liked it.

2 Stars – It was okay.

1 Star – Did not like it – was not enjoyable and lost interest in it.

Typically, for eARCs on NetGalley I only request the ones I have an interest in, so I never have a problem with deciding if I want to read the ARC or not. When a publisher or author asks me to review their book, I typically want to know what genre their book is in and the blurb. That way I can also look up what else the author has written and decide if it is something that I am interested in. I also take into account how many ARCs I already have, and if I have any deadlines coming up whether its for reviews or in my personal life. After accepting an ARC, I keep my reviews pretty unbiased and stick to just what I liked and didn’t like about the book. If an author/publisher requests a review, but asks that I contact them first if I am going to give anything less than 4 stars, I typically go ahead and pass on those books. I don’t like being told that in order to read a book and leave a review I have to follow certain guidelines and potentially skew my review just to fit their criteria. I like giving 100% honest reviews, and there are other books out there that I could read that lets me do that.

How do you  review books? What is your star rating breakdown?

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

