Posted in Young Adult

Arc TBR Takedown Read-A-Thon Week 4

I started Sam @RiverMoose-Reads Arc TBR Read-A-Thon reading challenge last week, and I have finally caught up!

The first week we were to do our list of Arcs we currently had and I explained the read-a-thon a little bit more fully, you can see my original post here. On my list of TBR Arcs are:

  1. Metaltown by Kristen Simmons
  2. Bad Blood by Dimitria Lunetta
  3. Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault by Candace Robinson
  4. Fallen Flame by J.M. Miller
  5. Dragon Redeemer by Amy Bearce
  6. House of Ash by Hope Cooke
  7. Fall of Thrones and Thorns by Jennifer Ellision
  8. Riot of Storm and Smoke by Jennifer Ellision
  9. The Ghost King by Jeff Altabef

So far, I still haven’t received any news on whether or not I’ve been approved for any more eArcs from NetGalley.


Week 4: Let’s Talk NetGalley

I really love NetGalley and have been using it for almost two years now. For those of you who don’t know what NetGalley is it’s a website that allows you to potentially read, review, and recommend books that are either recently published or about to be published. It’s a great place to try to get eArcs from authors/publishers. It’s broken down by genre, and then that specific genre is broken down into available for request, read now (no waiting required), most requested, and previously on NetGalley. I honestly only look at the available for request section since eventually all the books end up in one of the other subcategories. The best part about this site is that it’s free! I’ve tried doing other sites that are similar, but I was never approved and it was a lot more complicated to request a book than it is with NetGalley. They have this figured out. They only request that you keep your review response to at least 80% or above. Which isn’t hard to do if you remember to review all the books you receive from them, and typically most people leave reviews on their own blog or Goodreads anyway so all you have to do is copy and paste it into the NetGalley review box. Easy Peasy.

Sometimes, I do wish that they had more “popular” authors, or maybe I’m just a little bit disappointed that I never seem to be approved for their books. For an up and coming author, it seems as if I am always approved. I’ve currently been approved for about 50ish books, and been denied about 25ish times. So my ratio is pretty good, and most times it’s because the publishers already had enough reviews of the book.

Do you use NetGalley? What do you think of it? Do you use another website that allows you to read eArcs?

 

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

