Posted in Young Adult

Top Ten LGBT Books

In honor of Pride month, I decided to do a Top Ten LGBT Books that I have read. These books have either an LGBT theme or character/s. The books I have chosen are not in any type of order on preference, really I just put them on the list as I remembered them.


img_1421

Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I just love this duology (and I loved meeting the author last October). I really enjoyed that the two characters weren’t treated any differently because they were gay and was just accepted as the norm in their group.

 

last seen leaving

Last Seen Leaving by Calen Roehrig

This was a mystery that centered around the main character trying to figure out why his girlfriend disappeared, and coming to terms with his own secrets about himself.

 

cityofbones

 

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Really I could only get through the first 2 1/2 books in this series, but I really enjoyed Alec and Banes relationship.

 

 

theravenboysThe Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I’ve only read this book and it was a couple of years ago, so I don’t really remember much of it. I do need to reread this book so that I can finish the series, I’ve heard nothing but good things about it!

 

Eon

 

Eon by Alison Goodman

This one has a transgender character, who contributed a lot to the story and helped Eon for the majority of the book.

 

AndIDarken

And I Darken by Kiersten White

This was such an interesting book, as it is based on a gender bending of Vlad the Impaler. It follows the story of Lada and her brother as they both fall in love with the prince.

 

13reasonswhy

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

I didn’t really see any LGBT themes/or characters in the book, but it was definitely shown in the Netflix show. I didn’t really enjoy this book that much, but that’s mainly because of Hannah. You can check out my review of it if  you would like to know more.

 

 

Maybe, I should rename my list to The Books That I Can Remember That I’ve Read that Have a LGBT Theme/Character. I can only think of seven right now (and after going through my Goodreads list) eight if I include Crooked Kingdom ;). I obviously need to branch out more, and read books that are more diverse. So drop a comment below with some of your favorite books so that I can check them out!

 

 

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten LGBT Books

  1. This is an awesome list 🙂 I honestly see Six of Crows everywhere but I still haven’t picked it up. I may need to hurry up and get to that I think!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

