Posted in Young Adult

Rook Book Review

Before I begin my book review of Rook, I just wanted to say Happy Father’s Day to all of the dads out there in the blogging world! Also, to all the dads who supported us when we were young and just beginning our reading addiction! Without my dad I probably wouldn’t have a love of reading like I do today. So I appreciate him very much!


Rook by Sharon Cameronrook

Published: April 28th 2015 by Scholastic Press

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Summary:

History has a way of repeating itself. In the Sunken City that was once Paris, all who oppose the new revolution are being put to the blade. Except for those who disappear from their prison cells, a red-tipped rook feather left in their place. The mysterious Red Rook is a savior of the innocent, and a criminal in the eyes of the government.

Meanwhile, across the sea in the Commonwealth, Sophia Bellamy’s arranged marriage to the wealthy René Hasard is the last chance to save her family from ruin. But when the search for the Red Rook comes straight to her doorstep, Sophia discovers that her fiancé is not all he seems. Which is only fair, because neither is she.

As the Red Rook grows bolder and the stakes grow ever higher, Sophia and René find themselves locked in a tantalizing game of cat and mouse.

Daring intrigue, delicious romance, and spine-tingling suspense fill the pages of this extraordinary tale from award-winning author Sharon Cameron.

I just discovered Sharon Cameron last year when I read her book The Forgetting. I really enjoyed it, so I thought I would check out some of her other books. I finally got my hands on this copy at my local library, and I started reading it as soon as I walked through my front door.

He thought she was someone who could break the pattern of history. And he was offering to break it with her

Rook starts off with the Red Rook breaking a family out of prison in the Sunken City (aka Paris). So even from the start, I was hooked in wondering why the Red Rook was breaking people out, and if they would survive another day.

After such a dramatic and action packed beginning, I thought that this was going to be a great fast paced book that I’ll be able to finish in a day or two. Boy, was I wrong. I really enjoyed the plot of the book, but in reality this story could have been told in probably half the amount of pages. The middle for me just dragged and dragged and then continued to drag some more. If it was shorter, or if the plot moved a lot more then I definitely would have enjoyed it more.

I thought Sophia was a great main character (although I might be a little biased, because this is the first book I read that had a Sophia after we decided to name our baby girl that that’s due in September). She had some flaws which helped make her more relatable, but she was also very independent and strong willed.

Although, for someone who was very smart it seemed as if Sophia couldn’t or didn’t want to see things that was right in front of her face. Especially at the end, when the author was revealing all of the hidden conspiracies and betrayals to the Bellamy family. It wasn’t Sophia who revealed it all, but rather Rene. Which had me thinking how did he figure everything out? But, it also seemed a little too convenient in order to wrap up everything at the end.

“I think you are very beautiful,” René said, “especially when you are admiring mischief.”

“You must think that every time I look at you, then.”

Overall, this wasn’t a bad  book. It definitely wasn’t something new and original, but it does have it’s own little twists that help it stand out a little bit. Between this book and The Forgetting, I definitely enjoyed The Forgetting a lot more.

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

2 thoughts on “Rook Book Review

  1. Did you know that there are two sequels to Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones? They are more companion stories than just sequels, though Howl and Sophie do play a part in them, with the separate plots all coming together at the end. They are “Castle in the Air” and “House of Many Ways.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

