Posted in Young Adult

Arc TBR Takedown Read-A-Thon Week 2

img_1107

I started Sam @RiverMoose-Reads Arc TBR Read-A-Thon reading challenge this week, so I am still playing catch up on the weekly blogging posts (luckily I was only 3 behind so I am almost caught up).

The first week we were to do our list of Arcs we currently had, you can see my original post here. On my list of TBR Arcs are:

  1. Metaltown by Kristen Simmons
  2. Bad Blood by Dimitria Lunetta
  3. Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault by Candace Robinson
  4. Fallen Flame by J.M. Miller
  5. Dragon Redeemer by Amy Bearce
  6. House of Ash by Hope Cooke
  7. Fall of Thrones and Thorns by Jennifer Ellision
  8. Riot of Storm and Smoke by Jennifer Ellision
  9. The Ghost King by Jeff Altabef

So far, I still haven’t received any news on whether or not I’ve been approved for any more eArcs from NetGalley.


Week 2 (June 8th): What do you do when you have to DNF or negatively review an arc?

This is kind of a hard question, I don’t really like to DNF books but if I have to I will. My philosophy is that are plenty of unread books out there waiting for me to read than to suffer through a book that doesn’t have my interest at all. I do try to give books a chance though. I will at least read a couple of chapters or at least 50-100 pages before calling it quits. Thankfully, I haven’t really had to DNF a lot of books, but when I do I find it extremely more difficult to write a review since I didn’t read the entire book.

On the question how I negatively review an arc, I am just totally honest in my opinion. I would rather hear someone’s honest opinion than read all these glowing reviews only to strongly dislike the book. I like reading the mix reviews because then I know what I am getting myself into, and then can base my judgement myself rather than wondering why so many people loved the book and I didn’t. When I write a negative review, I just try to be critical in my analysis but then also say some things that I did enjoy about the book. I don’t like leaving negative reviews, but I will if I have to.

What do you do when you have to DNF or leave a negative review? Let’s start a discussion!

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

