Posted in Subscription Box, Young Adult

February Uppercase Box Review

I know it’s a little past February…okay more than a little try about 4 months past, but I realized this morning that I never posted a review of my box. So better late than never right? =)


I received a new box from Uppercase by Lisa Parkin on my front doorstep back in February, I believe in time for Valentine’s Day as well!

IMG_0024.JPGEvery month you receive:

  • a brand new hardcover book, the book is either signed or you receive a signed bookplate,
  • 1-2 high quality bookish items,
  • Uppercase reading experience with exclusive content,
  • and a special note!

You can choose from two different plans:

Expert plan: comes with everything above for only $23/month plus $6 shipping and handling;

Book exclusive plan: comes with everything above except the 1-2 bookish items for only $17/month plus s/h.

You can check out my other Uppercase reviews here, and my other book subscription reviews here!


As always Lisa includes a letter that has what is included in the box and a personalized note from her as well.

letter

I always love when subscription boxes do this, especially if I really like an item and I want to check out other items that that particular seller has.

Also an item that is always included in the box is a reading experience bookmark.

bookmark

By using the code you can find questions, polls and videos that correspond to that moment in the book. As much as I really like this idea, I never use it. Honestly, I rarely even use this as a bookmark because I have so many.

For this month, the book that was included was By Your Side by Kasie West. Which is also an Uppercase hardcover edition.

byyourside

Goodreads Summary:

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

This book normally retails for $9.99 in print, and on Amazon you can get the Kindle version for $9.99 or in paperback for $5.92. It looks as if the hardcover version was only for Uppercase subscribers, because even on Barnes and Noble they only have the paperback or Nook version for $9.99. I kind of like that as a subscriber, I received an item that isn’t sold anywhere else.

autograph

As typical for an Uppercase book, the author signed it as well. I really love that Uppercase does this with every book they send out! Personally, this increases the value of the book. My first Kasie West book was from Uppercase as well, and I really enjoyed it. So, I am hoping that I’ll enjoy this book just as much as the first one!

Since this is a Valentine box, Uppercase included a Valentine Card from EpicReads

idshare

I don’t think this card has any real value.

They also included a I ❤ YA laptop sticker.

iheartya

I really like the sticker, but I don’t put anything on my laptop except the hard outer shell for protection. This will probably end up on my bookshelf somewhere.

teaandbookmark

Pride & Peppermint Tea from NovelTeaTins. I don’t know the size that was received in relation to the packet that they have online. But you can purchase this particular blend for either $14.00 or a tin for $29.00. Since our package is most likely smaller, I will give it an estimated value of $7.00.

This tea is a sweet peppermint tea blend, that is organic and naturally caffeine free. The ingredients are rooibos (I had to look it up, it’s an African plant), peppermint, and chamomile. I honestly, don’t like when subscription boxes send tea samples. I am more of a coffee drinker, and they never send any samples of those. Someone needs to create a bibliophile coffee shop, so that subscription boxes can send them out! Just saying. 😉 I would if I was creative enough, or knew more details about coffee blends.

necklace

The last item in the box was this Sherlock Holmes 221B Key Necklace. Value maybe $12?

I definitely like the necklace better than the Sherlock key chain they sent a few months back.

febuppercase

Overall, I would say that this box has an estimated value of $29.00. Which is the same price of the subscription box. I really liked that EpicReads teamed up with Uppercase for this box, but it just seems as if what they included was filler and not really anything that contributes much to the box.

What do you think of this month’s (February) box?

 

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

