Posted in Arc, Young Adult

Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault Book Review

Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault (Glass Vault #1) by Candace Robinsonquinseywolfe

Published: May 16th 2017 by CreateSpace

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This eArc was provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary:

Some see it… Some don’t…

People in the town of Deer Park, Texas are vanishing. There is a strange museum, known as Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault, that appears overnight. Perrie Madeline’s best friend and ex-boyfriend are among the missing. Perrie, along with her friend August, go on a pursuit to search for them in the mysterious museum. Could the elusive Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault have anything to do with their disappearances?

A book that intertwines horror elements and retellings, with humor and darkness

Quinsey Wolfe's Glass Vault (Glass Vault, #1)

This is book one out of two in the Glass Vault series, with book 2 expected to be published around October.

Robinson did a fantastic job with weaving in the horror elements with all the classic fairytales that we all know and love. In the beginning I was wondering when that aspect of the book would start, but when it did I could barely put the book down! I didn’t see much humor in the book, but I did see a lot of darkness. I think I was expecting a little bit of a creep factor like in Dawn Kurtagich’s book, but this just had a more gruesome tone than creepy.

Perrie as a main character did not stand out as much to me as the side characters did. I almost wish her cousin Maisie was the main protagonist, but the end of the story made me change my mind. As Perrie and August go through each fairy tale, it seems as if they figure something out and by the next tale they have to figure it out all over again. By the time Perrie figures out how things are connected, I couldn’t help but just say “duh”. I think because once they are in the vault the pace of the book goes by very fast, so the author kind of goes into telling almost every detail rather than just showing how things unfold and let the reader try to figure it out for themselves. If we were on the same pace as Perrie, I wouldn’t have minded so much.

Other than Perrie, I really enjoyed the plot of this story (well after they actually go to the museum, the beginning could use some light editing just to make it go faster to the actual plot). It seems lately that I have been reading a lot of retellings, but none of them have had a horror twist aspect. The little snippets that we get of each one does a very good job of being very “scary-esque”, but I wish we could have stayed a little bit longer in a few of them to really explore the possibilities. Some scenes went by so fast, it was almost like why even put it in the book?

The ending, however, really brought up the book from 3 stars to 4. Sometimes it is really hard to write a very good ending, but Robinson did a very good job with this one. I almost wish I didn’t have to wait until October to read the second book!

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

One thought on “Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault Book Review

Leave a Reply

