Posted in Young Adult

The Scarlet Thread Book Review

The Scarlet Thread (Fated Destruction #1) by D.S. Murphythescarletthread

Published: March 2nd 2016 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Summary:

My name Kaidance Monroe, and sometimes when I touch people, I see how they die. After I saw my little brother’s death but failed to stop it, my parents abandoned me to a juvenile detention facility. I don’t let people touch me anymore. Not my fingertips, not my skin, not my heart. I make my own clothes by stitching together the donations we get; usually a bunch of crap that fits like a parachute. My sweater is a patchwork of different shades of inky, dark squares. I make plain gray skirts that hang to my knees, with cute or funny T-shirts sewed in. They clash ironically with my unsmiling face. My Allstar high-tops are black and frayed, like my soul.

I also wear a chunk of brightly colored legos around my neck. My little brother was working on it the day he died. The day I failed to save him. It’s unfinished, so I’ll never know what it was meant to be. Most days, I just try to get by. But then I got a visit from a cute guy, who tricked me into giving up my secrets. He said I was special. That he needed me. For a while, I believed him. But once I found out what I could really do, I learned everybody wanted the power I possessed. The power to destroy deities. To kill gods. To end the world… or to save it. My heart is torn, and those I loved most betrayed me. I’m trying so hard to do what’s right, but nobody can tell me what that is anymore, and the moral boundaries I’d always let define my life have been shattered. Whose rules should I obey now? Or do I have to make my own?

The Scarlet Thread is a dark fantasy for fans of Greek mythology and Gothic romance. Fans of Fallen and Percy Jackson will be captivated by this mashup of fallen angels and forgotten gods.

This is PART ONE of the first book in the Fated Destruction series.

The Scarlet Thread (Fated Destruction, #1)
“If there’s one thing I’ve learned in all my years, it’s this: death will not be cheated.”
Kaidance has a special gift that lands her in an institution after the death of her brother. Everyone thinks she’s a murderer and unhinged, and she doesn’t persuade people against their beliefs. Then she gets saved by a mysterious guy and is thrown into this world full of Greek mythology. It’s discovered that she is the “chosen” one who has the power to end the war.
Does this sound familiar? Although, I enjoyed this book for the most part, it definitely felt like something I have read already. Multiple series actually. The beginning really reminded me of Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige. To be fair, this was written before Stealing Snow, but I read it first and couldn’t help but compare the two.
I didn’t like the fact that Kaidance spent her time wondering if the cute guy liked her in between figuring out how to use her powers. With her pining back and forth over a guy, it makes you wonder how she is supposed to be the special one. Maybe it’s just that I didn’t find it plausible and it felt a little forced.
One of the major aspects of the book that I did not like at all was all the prejudice against the “mix” bloods. (This is where the Percy Jackson references pop in). The family that lives in the house are all pure bloods and although they protect the half bloods from Zeus, they don’t like them and hardly interact with them that much. With all of the prejudice and holier than thou attitude, I don’t really understand why the mix bloods or the fallen ones stay with them.
Even though this book had similarities to other books that I have read and thoroughly enjoyed, this one just left me with meh. I’m glad that I got this book for free thanks to the daily Bookbub e-mails I get. Otherwise, I would not have read this book. Most likely I’ll only read the second book if it comes up for free in another Bookbub e-mail.

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

