Posted in Young Adult

Wires and Nerve Book Review

Wires and Nerve, Volume 1 by Marissa Meyerwiresandnerve

Published: January 31st 2017 by Feiwel & Friends

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Summary:

In her first graphic novel, #1 New York Times and USA Today bestseller Marissa Meyer follows Iko, the beloved android from the Lunar Chronicles, on a dangerous and romantic new adventure — with a little help from Cinder and the Lunar team.

In her first graphic novel, bestselling author Marissa Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a brand-new, action-packed story about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold. When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers’ leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity. With appearances by Cinder and the rest of the Rampion crew, this is a must-have for fans of the bestselling series.

The copy I read actually had the staff in Iko’s hand instead of the gun. I’m sure by now you probably heard of the controversy of the cover, but honestly I don’t think it makes much of a difference. I don’t think in the graphic novel Iko ever had a staff, but she was always using a tranquilizer gun so whether or not its on the cover doesn’t seem like a big deal to me. But I am also older than the intended audience, so I could also see the other side of the problem.

That’s not necessary. I’m doing what any good friend would do, out of loyalty and Lunar patriotism and–“
“I’ll buy you a new pair of shoes.”
“Sold.”

Before going into this book, I have already heard a few rumblings, but I wanted to give it a clean shot and without any expectations. Especially since I really love the actual series that this is based off of. This novel starts off a few months after the end ofΒ Winter, so if you haven’t read the series yet I wouldn’t start with this one.

I enjoyed the fact that this was based upon Iko and her adventures with and outside of the group. Although, if I had to deal with her this much in the first 4 books, I probably wouldn’t have liked her as much. (She can be a tad bit annoying) TLC itself was a bit more complex, where this one was light in the plot development. The tone was a lot different as well going for a more comical, I need to feel needed kind of way.

This book was centered around Cinder getting ready to abdicate the throne, and Iko rounding up the rogue wolf hybrids terrorizing Earth. So as you can see there wasn’t much of a plot, except near the end when a true “villain” appeared. The dialogue along with the graphics in this novel made it seem as if the target audience was for more of a middle school reader rather than for an older young adult reader like the previous books. To be honest, I was not a fan of the graphics and didn’t really look at them that much.

I misread the romantic tension, Didn’t I?

There was also a moment where there was “romantic tension” between Iko and another character, and it just felt really forced. Not everyone in the series needs to have a romantic partner, and I was hoping that Iko would just keep on having her fangirl crush on Emperor Kai like all the other girls. There wasn’t much else going on in the book, so I felt like the author was just trying to throw something “new” into the mix.

Overall, I felt very meh about this book. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t enjoy it all that much either. If you really loveΒ The Lunar ChroniclesΒ then maybe you’ll want to stay away and just keep your love alive by rereading the series. If you don’t really care one way or another, you can pick up this graphic novel and maybe you’ll enjoy it more than me! I would love to hear your inputs on this, as I know there is a big following for the author and there are plenty of mix reviews.

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

2 thoughts on “Wires and Nerve Book Review

Leave a Reply

