Posted in Young Adult

Eon Review

Eon: Dragoneye Reborn by Alison GoodmanEon

Published: December 26th 2008 by Viking Books for Young Readers

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Summary:

Also Known As: Two Pearls of Wisdom, Eon: Rise of the Dragoneye, and Eon (All the same book just published with different publishers)

Swordplay, dragon magic–and a hero with a desperate secret

Twelve-year-old Eon has been in training for years. His intensive study of Dragon Magic, based on East Asian astrology, involves two kinds of skills: sword-work and magical aptitude. He and his master hope that he will be chosen as a Dragoneye–an apprentice to one of the twelve energy dragons of good fortune.

But Eon has a dangerous secret. He is actually Eona, a sixteen-year-old girl who has been masquerading as a boy for the chance to become a Dragoneye. Females are forbidden to use Dragon Magic; if anyone discovers she has been hiding in plain sight, her death is assured.

When Eon’s secret threatens to come to light, she and her allies are plunged into grave danger and a deadly struggle for the Imperial throne. Eon must find the strength and inner power to battle those who want to take her magic…and her life.

My friend suggested this book to me about 3 years ago, and I finally picked it up and read it even though it has been on my shelf for ages!! At first I couldn’t get into it. I didn’t really like the main character that much and thought she wasn’t being very smart. For the first half of the book, Eon blamed being crippled for everything! And would always look to someone else for guidance. She (being a he) was so annoying I wanted something bad to happen to her!

Even a cornered rabbit will fight with teeth and claws

What drew me to this book (other than being set in Asia) was the fact that the main character was hiding as a male in order to become the possible next dragoneye. (As I think about it it kind of reminds me a little bit of Mulan, and it has dragons in it.) As the story went on, I thought it was kind of ridiculous the lengths that Eon went to keep up the facade. Especially when Eon didn’t know the true name of the Mirror dragon, he decided to take the sun drug to “snuff” out any womaness in him so that the Mirror dragon would appear. He should have realized that every time he did something to make him more Eon and less Eona, that the Mirror dragon would disappear. I couldn’t but help think that if Eon couldn’t see the parallels then maybe he didn’t deserve to be a dragoneye.

When finally finally Eon finds out that the Mirror dragon is in fact female, and that Lady Dela told Eon that the compass was written in woman script, did things start to make sense. After the discovery Eon lashes out at her servant to keep quiet, so of course Lady Dela figures out that Eon is actually a girl (she seems to be the only smart one in the group). Lady Dela and her guard were rightfully mad and I was happy that Eona was getting what she deserved. This is the part of the book that I started to really enjoy it (and unfortunately it was about the last quarter). From this point on everything is happening fast pace. Eona tells the prince (who is now the emperor) that she is a girl, but that she could still protect him. Lord Ido (the villain of the story) started his rampage against the other dragoneyes and starts killing them off one by one. I could go on, but then I would spoil the ending for you.

I found power in accepting the truth of who I am. It may not be a truth that others can accept, but I cannot live any other way. How would it be to live a lie every minute of your life.

Because of all the action in the last part of the book (not to be confused there was a lot of action all throughout) is what really drove up the stars. I was going to give this 3/5 but I enjoyed the ending so much, I gave it an extra star. I hope that the second book goes more smoothly than this one for me. The world building was very lack luster in this book, and it kind of felt like it was more of a second book than the first. Character development was also a bit lacking as well. Eon(a) was pretty flushed out as well as Ido, but the others could have had a little more. The fantasy aspect of this book was phenomenal and was probably the only aspect that I enjoyed all throughout the book!

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

One thought on “Eon Review

Leave a Reply

