Posted in Young Adult

The Forgetting Book Review

img_1339

The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron

Published: September 13th 2016 by Scholastic Press

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Summary:

What isn’t written, isn’t remembered. Even your crimes.

Nadia lives in the city of Canaan, where life is safe and structured, hemmed in by white stone walls and no memory of what came before. But every twelve years the city descends into the bloody chaos of the Forgetting, a day of no remorse, when each person’s memories – of parents, children, love, life, and self – are lost. Unless they have been written.

In Canaan, your book is your truth and your identity, and Nadia knows exactly who hasn’t written the truth. Because Nadia is the only person in Canaan who has never forgotten.

But when Nadia begins to use her memories to solve the mysteries of Canaan, she discovers truths about herself and Gray, the handsome glassblower, that will change her world forever. As the anarchy of the Forgetting approaches, Nadia and Gray must stop an unseen enemy that threatens both their city and their own existence – before the people can forget the truth. And before Gray can forget her.

I am made of my memories.

This was in my September Uppercase box (you can read my reviews of them here). I can’t believe I waited so long to read this! Where it isn’t one of my favorite books, it was still very enjoyable.

The gist is that every 12 years everyone in Canaan forgets everything, everyone except Nadia that is. She isolates herself because she is afraid, and then Gray starts inserting himself into her life. Nadia finally starts to open up and that is when they start to work together to figure out why everyone forgets every 12 years.

Knowing the truth makes me alone. I wrote that once, but I think I was wrong. Fear of pain is what has made me alone. But today I realized that pain and love have a balance. I can feel so much of one only because I feel so much of the other.

With that being said you can imagine how slow paced this book is. For at least the first half of the book Nadia tried to avoid everyone and suspicion of her secret travels over the wall. In the beginning she over hears a conversation and instead of investigating it (like anyone else would), she doesn’t even think about it until later when it is convenient to her current situation.

The romance between Gray and Nadia was cute sometimes, and a little bit annoying at others, especially in the beginning. I understand that it is hard for her to trust people because she knows they will just forget her at the next forgetting, but man she moves one step forward and then one small little hitch and she moves two steps back.

But who can find the truth in Canaan? Janis doesn’t tell it, the Learning Room doesn’t teach it. My father has twisted it, Mother half forgotten it, and the Forgetting is the thief that steals it.

At first I thought that this was just a dystopian novel, but then Cameron adds in a little twist to make this also a sci-fi novel and it was great! Probably one of the few twist aspects of this novel that I really enjoyed. Once this discovery was made, about half way through the book, the plot finally started moving again. The last 10% of the book was where basically all the action happened, and also reveal after reveal was made.

The ending is really what I enjoyed most about this book. I just wish that Cameron had incorporated more of those type of scenes throughout the entire book. We get a little hint of it when Nadia and Gray go exploring and discover some truth about Canaan’s past, but it wasn’t enough for me! Maybe I am too used to heavily action packed dystopian novels such as The Hunger Games or Divergent.

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

