Posted in Lists, Young Adult

17 Books I am Looking Forward to in 2017

Happy New Years Day!!!! If I was home in South Carolina right now, we would be having collard greens and black eyed peas as part of our traditional lunch. I don’t know when this started or why we do it, but we do, and honestly it is not my favorite part of NYD. With it being the new year, means that I have to come up with some new years resolutions!

Sam’s New Years Resolutions:

  1. Read 100 books in 2017 (Goodreads Challenge)
  2. 17 of those books should be from this list
  3. Write and defend my thesis (hopefully I’ll be done and be able to graduate by December)
  4. Blog at least 3 times a week (let’s see if I can do a better job this year)
  5. Visit somewhere new

What are your family traditions on this day? Do you have any reading/blog resolutions?

So without further ado, here are 17 books that I am looking forward to this year (if you click the covers, it will take you to their Goodreads page)!


roseblood

Roseblood by A.G. Howard

Expected Publication: January 10th 2017

Publisher: Amulet Books

A retelling of Phantom of the Opera? Yes, please!

 

 

wiresandnerve

Wires and Nerve, Volume I by Marissa Meyer

Expected Publication: January 31st 2017

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

I will gladly dive back into the Lunar Chronicles universe, anytime day or night.

 

kingscage

King’s Cage (Red Queen #3) by Victoria Aveyard

Expected Publication: February 7th 2017

Publisher: HarperTeen

I wasn’t a huge fan of the 2nd book, so I am hoping that this will redeem the series for me!

 

lifeblood

Lifeblood (Everlife #2) by Gena Showalter

Expected Publication: February 28th 2017

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Showalter is one of my instant buy authors! I just loved her White Chronicle series, so I have high hopes for this series. Which means I have until the end of February to read the fist book!

theendofoz

The End of Oz  (Dorothoy Must Die #4) by Danielle Paige

Expected Publication: March 14th 2017

Publisher: HarperCollins

I really enjoyed the first two books, but I need to finish the 3rd book before this one comes out!!!

 

strangethedreamer

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Expected Publication: March 28th 2017

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

I just started reading Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, and I love it. So I can just imagine that this will be a great new book!

 

missingMissing by Kelley Armstrong

Expected Publication: April 18th 2017

Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers

This seems a bit different from Armstrong’s normal paranormal books, so I am very excited to read this one!

 

acourtofwingsandruin

A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3) by Sarah J. Maas

Expected Publication: May 2nd 2017

Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books

I don’t think anything is needed to be said about this series =)

 

thecrownsfateThe Crown’s Fate (The Crown’s Game #2)

Expected Publication: May 16th 2017

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

I wasn’t very impressed with the first book, but the ending has me wanting to know what happens next!

 

onceandforall

Once and for All by Sarah Dessen

Expected Publication: June 6th 2017

Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers

I love everything by Dessen and I am sure that this will not be an exception!

 

wonderwoman

Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons) by Leigh Bardugo

Expected Publication: August 29th 2017

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

4 different authors, 4 different DC super heroes! I cannot wait for this come out!

 


Superman (DC Icons) by Matt de la Pena and Batman (DC Icons) by Marie Lu have expected publications of 2017, but I don’t know when they will actually be released.


Untitled (Thrones of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas

Expected Publication: September 5th 2017

I am a few books behind, but I am glad that I will finally be able to catch up to everyone since there will be no more books after this!


 The Glass Spare (The Glass Spare #1) by Lauren DeStefano

Expected Publication: September 2017

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

I have never head of this author, but the premise looks very intriguing!


The Gatlon School for Vigilantes (The Gatlon Trilogy #1) by Marissa Meyer

Expected Publication: November 7th 2017

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

I have high hopes for Meyers new trilogy away from TLC!


Ever the Brave (A Class of Kingdoms #2) by Erin Summerill

Expected Publication: December 5th 2017

Publisher: Hmh Books for Young Readers

I just got the first book a few weeks ago, but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. If I like it I will definitely be checking out this book!


 

What books are you looking forward to this year? Are you excited for any of the books on my list just as much as me? Let me know in the comments!!

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

