Posted in Lists, Young Adult

16 of My Least Favorite Books in 2016

Yesterday I did a post on the books that I enjoyed this year (if you missed it you can check it out here). Now it’s time for a list of books I did not enjoy this year. These are the books that I gave 1-2 stars or didn’t even give a rating. The covers are linked to their Goodreads page.


mechanica

Mechanica (Mechanica #1) by Betsy Cornwell

Published: August 25th 2015 by Clarion Books

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Review: This is a Cinderella retelling that has a strong feminist plot. Too bad that it was boring and the pacing was slow =/. Check out my review here.

amortalsongA Mortal Song by Megan Crewe

Published: September 13th 2016 by Another World Press

Rating: DNF

Review: This is about a princess who finds out she is a changeling and doesn’t really have secret powers. Thats about the most I could get into the book unfortunately. It has a really good premise, so it’s definitely a book to look at if it suits you. Check out my review here.

img_1235A Monstrous Beauty by Elizabeth Fama

Published: September 4th 2012 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Rating: 1 star out of 5

Review: This book was very dark and compelling in the beginning, and then it just tapered off. I DNFed it so I don’t think it deserves a 1 star rating until I actually finish it, but it was not my cup of tea.

img_1113

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Published: January 5th 2012 by Pamela Dorman Books/Viking

Rating: 2 stars out of 5

Review: This was a very slow paced book that just bothered me. The main character was bullied by her family and boyfriend and she just let it happen. Then she starts to gain confidence in herself, but only because a boy told her to…ugh. Check out my full review here.

howtohangawitch

How To Hang A Witch by Adriana Mather

Published: July 26th 2016 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Rating: DNF

Review: This book bothered me a lot and it was just so unappealing that I didn’t even finish it. The MC had a lot of flaws that didn’t make her a very relatable character. Being described as Salem Witch Trials meets Mean Girls is a disservice to that time in history and the movie. Check out my full review here.

thebonewitch

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Expected Publication: March 7th 2017 by Sourcebooks Fire

Rating: DNF

Review: This book has a really good premise. I read an eArc of this and thought that the book just went on forever. I would be interested in reading this again after it’s published to see if it had more edits. Check out my review here.

18374994 (1)Starstruck (Starstuck #1) by Brenda Hiatt

Published: August 1st 2013 by Createspace

Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Review: This was my first ever audiobook, and I don’t think that helped very much. I thought the main character was very whiny. So needless to say I did not like it very much. Check out my full review here.

img_0999

The Neverland Wars (The Neverland Wars #1) by Audrey Greathouse

Published: May 9th 2016 by Clean Teen Publishing

Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Review: This was a very hard book to get into. I don’t think I even made it to Gwen getting to Neverland. Check out my review here.

29382653Between the Bleeding Willows (Demon Hunter #1) by D.A. Roach

Published: March 8th 2008 by Limitless Publishing LLC

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Review: This is a book about angels and demons that reminded me a lot of other books. Check out my full review here.

BurningGlass

Burning Glass (Burning Glass #1) by Kathryn Purdie

Published: March 1st 2016 by Katherine Tegen Books

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Review: This was a slow moving book. The first 100 pages were great along with the last couple of chapters. The rest on the other hand was filled with love triangles and nonsense. Read my full review here.


The following 6 books are books I read but didn’t write a review for:

These Shalltheseshallowgravesow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Published: October 27th 2015 by Random House Delacorte

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

 

3willows

3 Willows: the Sisterhood Grows by Ann Brashares

Published: January 1st 2009 by Delacorte Press

Rating:  2 out of 5 stars

 

 

thegirlonthetrain

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Published: January 13th 2015 by Riverhead Books

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Review: This book was hard to follow a little bit while listening to the audiobook, but I did enjoy the movie much more surprisingly.

firegirl

Fire Girl (A Tale of Witches and Wolves #1) by Andy Mulberry

Published: April 28th 2016 by Blueglass Press

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

 

hiddendeep.jpgHidden Deep (Hidden Saga #1) by Amy Patrick

Published: March 23rd 2015 by Oxford South Press

Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

 

lifeanddeath.jpgLife and Death: Twilight Reimagined (Twiligh #1.75) by Stephenie Meyer

Published: October 6th 2015 by Little, Brown

Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Review: I think 1 stars is being very generous to this book. A book should not put you to sleep =/

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

One thought on “16 of My Least Favorite Books in 2016

Leave a Reply

