Posted in Lists, Young Adult

16 Books I Enjoyed in 2016

2016 is coming to a close and I have read a lot of good and not so good books this year. So I have compiled a list of my favorite 2016 reads. If you click the covers it will take you to their Goodreads page! I have also included my full reviews for you to look at if a book sparks your interest! So without further ado here is my list (in no particular order):


daughterofsmokeandbone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (DoSaB #1) by Laini Taylor

Published: September 27th 2011 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Review: This was a great start to a new (to me) series! I loved the world that Taylor has built and can’t wait until I can pick up the second one to continue Karou’s story! Check out my full review here.

crookedkingdomCrooked Kingdom (Six of Crows Book #2) by Leigh Bardugo

Published: September 20th 2016 by Henry Holt and Company

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Review: This was everything and more that I wanted in an end to a duology! This book had so many twists and turns that it was very hard to put down! Review.

fbawtft

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay by J.K. Rowling

Published: November 19th 2016 by Little, Brown Book Group

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Review: One word. Niffler. He alone (along with stepping back into the wizarding world) would be enough to want to watch the movie and read the book over and over again! Check out my review here.

andthetreescreptinAnd the Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich

Published: September 6th 2016 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Review: This book was fantastically creepy and so good at the same time. I am not one for horror, but I read Kurtagich’s debut novel last year and I could not put it down! So I knew I would enjoy this one just as well! Check out my review here.

IMG_0070P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

Published: July 26th 2016 by Point

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Review: This was my first Kasie West book, and I don’t think it will be my last! This was a very adorably contemporary novel that’s very different from my normal go to books. Check out my review here.

anemberintheashes

An Ember in the Ashes (AEitA #1) by Sabaa Tahir

Published: April 28th 2015 by Razorbill

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Review: An oppressive Empire, a rebel group, and spies! Sounds kind of like Star Wars, but this doesn’t take place in space. This was a great debut novel for Tahir and I can’t wait to get my hands on A Torch Against the Night! Check out my review here.

img_1111Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Published: May 17th 2016 by HarperTeen

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Review: This was a great book about a girl with psychological issues that she works very hard to overcome. For a contemporary this one took on some darker issues, but still maintained a humor aspect with a little romance thrown in. Check out my review here.

reddeath

Red Death by Jeff Altabef

Published: November 28th 2016 by Evolved Publishing

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Review: This was a great dystopian meets King Arthurs court type novel. Check out my full review here.

thedemoninthewoodThe Demon in the Wood (The Grisha #0.1) by Leigh Bardugo

Published: August 18th 2015 by Henry and Holt Company (BYR)

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Review: This novella made me feel sympathy for the Darkling and I wished this was longer! Really if you haven’t you should read all of Bardugo’s short stories in this universe, they are all fantastic. Check out my full review here.

flashfallFlashfall (Flashfall #1) by Jenny Moyer

Published: November 15th 2016 by Henry Holt & Co. (BYR)

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Review: I read this arc over the summer, and I really loved the new world that Moyer created for us! Check out my full review here.

gilthollowGilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon

Published: September 27th 2016 by Blink

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Review: Langdon wrote a masterfully written mystery, fully of twists and turns while trying to uncover the true murderer. Check out my full review here.

27969100The Assassin Game by Kirsty McKay

Published: July 2nd 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Review: This was a little Nancy Drewesque in trying to figure out who the assassin in the game was before getting killed. I never figured out who the assassin was and the ending took a surprise turn! Check out my full review here.

theShadowQueenThe Shadow Queen (Ravenspire #1) by C.J. Redwine

Published: February 16th 2016 by Balzer + Bray

Rating: 4 out of 4 stars

Review: Who can resist a Snow White retelling? While there are some elements that are similar to the original, Redwine was still able to make this her own story and I enjoyed every minute of it! Check out my full review here.

IMG_0031

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab

Published: July 5th 2016 by Greenwillow Books

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Review: This was my first Schwab book and it definitely won’t be my last! It was great trying to figure out who was the hero and who was the villain. Check out my full review here.

img_1024

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts I and II by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

Published: July 31st 2016 by Little, Brown UK

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Review: This has been a great year for Rowling =) I am still waiting for Scorbus to happen!! Check out my full review here.

lostinwonderland

Lost in Wonderland (The Twisted and the Brave #1) by Nicky Peacock

Published: April 14th 2016 by Evernight Teen

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Review: This was an action packed Alice in Wonderland retelling, except Wonderland is a secret agency that trains vigilantes that hunt down serial killers. Check out my full review here.

 

Have you read any on my list? What are some of your favorites from this year?

 

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

