Posted in Young Adult

Litcube “Sherlocked” December Box Review

Lit-Cube is a monthly subscription box curated by Peggy and her team that sends you a book, a wearable, and other little bookish goodies.

The cost: $29.99/month + $4.99 s/h to U.S. and $14.99 s/h to Canada

 

<–This is what it looks like on the inside, after you first open it! The anticipation is exciting. This months theme was “Sherlocked” and it has all things Sherlockian inside!! I always like their description cards, and this month is no exception!

Check out my other Lit-Cube reviews and book box subscription reviews !

 


I was very surprised to see two hardcover books in our box this month! I didn’t realize there was two until after I pulled them out, because even though I like the info card, I don’t want to be spoiled while I take everything out. Do you read the info cards or wait until after you unbox everything??

Lock & Mori (Lock & Mori #1) by Heather W. Petty

Released: September 15th 2015 by Simon & Shuster Books for Young Readers

Goodreads Summary:

In modern-day London, two brilliant high school students—one Sherlock Holmes and a Miss James “Mori” Moriarty—meet. A murder will bring them together. The truth very well might drive them apart.

Before they were mortal enemies, they were much more…

FACT: Someone has been murdered in London’s Regent’s Park. The police have no leads.

FACT: Miss James “Mori” Moriarty and Sherlock “Lock” Holmes should be hitting the books on a school night. Instead, they are out crashing a crime scene.

FACT: Lock has challenged Mori to solve the case before he does. Challenge accepted.

FACT: Despite agreeing to Lock’s one rule—they must share every clue with each other—Mori is keeping secrets.

OBSERVATION: Sometimes you can’t trust the people closest to you with matters of the heart. And after this case, Mori may never trust Lock again

This book has a retail value of $17.99, but you can find it on Amazon for $12.14.

The book itself looks very interesting, and something that I would enjoy reading a lot! My only complaint is that there is a slit in the jacket on the top right corner. At least it’s small and hopefully won’t get any bigger!

 

Lock & Mori Mind Games (Lock & Mori #2) by Heather W. Petty

Published: December 6th 2016 by Simon & Shuster

Goodreads Summary:

Sherlock Holmes and Miss James “Mori” Moriarty may have closed their first case, but the mystery is far from over in the thrilling sequel to Lock & Mori, perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson and Sherlock.

You know their names. Now discover their beginnings.

Mori’s abusive father is behind bars…and she has never felt less safe. Threatening letters have started appearing on her doorstep, and the police are receiving anonymous tips suggesting that Mori—not her father—is the Regent’s Park killer. To make matters worse, the police are beginning to believe them.

Through it all, Lock—frustrating, brilliant, gorgeous Lock—is by her side. The two of them set out to discover who is framing Mori, but in a city full of suspects, the task is easier said than done. With the clock ticking, Mori will discover just how far she is willing to go to make sure that justice is served, and no one—not even Lock—will be able to stop her.

This book has a retail value of $17.99, but you can find it on Amazon for $11.99.

Depending on how the first book goes will determine if I will enjoy this one or not. So I’m crossing my fingers that I do, because the premise sounds really good. So far it has a 4.06 rating on Goodreads, so that is really promising so far.

Look how cute these promotional items are!! The stickers are adorable, and I am thinking of putting them inside my book. What do you do with promotional character stickers?

I decided to put the signed sticker inside the Mind Games book, that way it won’t accidentally get lost.

The wearable this month, are Lit-Cube exclusive Sherlock Holmes socks! This has a retail value of $9.99. Since they were designed just for Lit-Cube subscribers you unfortunately won’t be able to find them anywhere else. Hopefully if they have extras they will sell them on their website.

Sherlock themed tea by First Edition Tea Co. Retail value $3.99

This fits the theme very well, I just wish I liked tea! Maybe I need to subscribe to their Stars Hallow box in order to get coffee products instead of tea!

221 Baker Street keychain – retail value $5.99

This is a cute keychain, a little plain for my tastes, but I have some friends who would really like this for Christmas!

Last, but not least, is this exclusive 2016 Lit-Cube Holiday #bookish ornament. I like the color, but it’s a little hard to see the words unless you are right on top of it. It does give my tree a little something extra!

Overall, this month’s box had an estimated overall value of $44.10. That doesn’t include the ornament or promotional items included in the box. Unfortunately, this will be my last box for awhile for personal reasons and this was a great box to end my subscription with. I loved that there was 2 books included in the box and the socks! One can never have too many socks.

What do you think of this month’s box?

Advertisements

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

One thought on “Litcube “Sherlocked” December Box Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s