Posted in Young Adult

Crooked Kingdom Review

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugocrookedkingdom

Six of Crows #2

Published: September 27th 2016 by Henry Holt and Co.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There may be some Six of Crows spoilers, so read at your own risk.

Goodreads Summary:

When you can’t beat the odds, change the game.

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

No mourners

No funerals

I received this book the day it came out, and I dragged it out as much as possible!! It still was not enough for me! I am totally bummed right now that this series is over =(.

This book starts off a week after the first one finished, and everyone is still trying to figure out the next step after Inej has been kidnapped. Let me just say that Inej is probably my favorite character in the whole series, and I would be a-okay with her having her own spin-off. Just saying. They obviously get Inej back, but not without some serious planning. It is amazing the plans that Kaz comes up with and all the contingency plans just in case there is a hiccup.

“He was going to break my legs ,” she said, her chin held high, the barest quaver in her voice. “Would you have come for me then, Kaz? When I couldn’t scale a wall or walk a tightrope? When I wasn’t the Wraith anymore?”
Dirtyhands would not. The boy who could get them through this, get their money, keep them alive, would do her the courtesy of putting her out of her misery, then cut his losses and move on.
“I would come for you,” he said, and when he saw the wary look she shot him, he said it again. “I would come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together—knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.”

When you are dealing with the Dregs and their heists, you almost need to write down everything just so you don’t miss something. While Kaz tells you about the main plan, he has about 2 others in play at the same time that if you’re not careful you don’t pick up on until the end during the reveal. I definitely missed a couple and was very surprised with out it all turned out. Whereas in the first book, there was only one major con and a few little ones here and there to get the crew together. In this book there was something happening every other chapter. Just when you think that things can not get any worse for our favorite team, Bardugo throws a curveball at them and they have to struggle to keep their heads above water.

Bardugo not only liked to give us all of the plot twists unimaginable, she threw in all the feels as well! I don’t think I have been invested in a series as much as this one, and boy were they all over the place! Bardugo basically took you on a roller coaster ride and you didn’t get off until the very end of the book!

I could go on and on about this book, but I think you get the point that I really enjoyed it! If I could ask Bardugo for anything, I would ask her to write a short story with Kaz and Inej!

Two of the deadliest people the Barrel had to offer and they could barely touch each other without both of them keeling over. But they’d tried. He’d tried. Maybe they could try again.

I definitely think I enjoyed this book a whole lot more than the first one, and I loved the first one. I stumbled upon Bardugo’s books by accident about a year and a half ago and I have read everything by her now! With that being said, if you have not read this book yet, what are you waiting for? You will not be disappointed!

 

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

