Posted in Movies, Young Adult

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Screenplay/Movie Review

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay bfbawtfty J.K. Rowling

Published: November 18th 2016 by Pottermore from J.K. Rowling

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Summary:

When Magizoologist Newt Scamander arrives in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape, it spells trouble for everyone…

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them marks the screenwriting debut of J.K. Rowling, author of the beloved and internationally bestselling Harry Potter books. Featuring a cast of remarkable characters, this is epic, adventure-packed storytelling at its very best.

Whether an existing fan or new to the wizarding world, this is a perfect addition to any reader’s bookshelf.

If you haven’t read this yet, I definitely suggest going to the movie first so that nothing is ruined. That way when you read this screenplay, you can appreciate the notes about the scenes a little bit more. At least for me, as I was reading I was able to go back to the movie and understand the scenes a little bit more.

Plot wise the movie/book was very simple. Beasts are accidentally let loose, and then we spend about an hour and a half on trying to catch them all. There is also the side plot that is the reason this franchise will be 5 movies instead of just the one. I mean we have to have  at least one wizard wreaking havoc and causing mayhem for our heroes.

Let’s talk about the characters. I just love Newt! Eddie Redmayne was FANTASTIC in this movie! I have seen him in some of his other movies, but I think this might be his best one yet. It also helps that he is a fellow Hufflepuff :).

Tina Goldstein was probably my least favorite character for about 95% of the movie and book. I didn’t like how she kept trying to turn Newt in so that she could get her job back. Unfortunately, we get to know her a little bit more and by the end I wasn’t annoyed with her anymore.

The Second Salemers were very dark and creepy, every single time with no fail. They are against any form of magic and try to tell the no-majs that witches are among them, and they are the reason for the weird happenings in New York.

This movie/book has such a wide diversity of characters, and I love it! With so many characters, it is almost a little difficult to know who you can trust to be on the side of good and who you can’t. There was a twist at the end that I did not see coming! I won’t share any details, but it was very good!!! =D JK Rowling did a fantastic job with this screenplay, and I can’t wait to see what the next 4 movies!

I would like to know where I can get my own Niffler, because I want one sooo badly!!! He was so stinkin’ cute in the movie and I loved that he was on the cover underneath the jacket. Although, he should come with a warning label “hide all sparkly and shiny things”.

What was your favorite beast in the movie? What did you think of the movie/book?

I am going to see it again tonight with my friends and I hope they enjoy it as much as I do! ::crosses fingers::

 

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

2 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Screenplay/Movie Review

Leave a Reply

