Posted in Young Adult

Unleash the Storm Review

I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving and is enjoying your Black Friday. I will probably spend my day watching the Gilmore Girls revival on Netflix, and maybe a little bit of online shopping =D What are you planning on doing today?


unleashthestorm.jpg

Unleash the Storm by Annette Marie

Steel and Stone Series Book #5

Published: March 4th 2016 by Annette Marie

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Summary:

Piper thought she could handle the Sahar, the most powerful magical weapon in existence. She thought she could protect her loved ones and stop a war. She thought she could make a difference.

She was wrong, and her mistakes were paid for in blood.

Leaving her world—and her failures—behind, she retreats to the Underworld with Ash and the other draconians. They forge deep into long abandoned mountains, the first draconians to fly the valleys and passes in centuries—or so they thought. Until now, Ash’s mysterious heritage has been nothing but a name, but his presence does not go unnoticed. A new danger stalks him, one that may be even greater than what they escaped.

Cut off from the power she’d come to rely on and lost in a world where she doesn’t belong, Piper has never felt so hopeless. But she must find her strength, and find it quickly, before she loses Ash to an ancient power he can’t fight, before her home is devastated by the daemon war, and before her mind, body, and soul are consumed by the Sahar’s insidious magic.

Let me just say that I can’t believe this is the last book in the series!! =( I feel as if I have a deeply invested interest in Piper and Ash’s relationship by this point, and I just wanted them to finally be together with no problems! Was that too much to ask for?! Apparently so because Marie left the ending to the entire series ambiguous on purpose, so you’ll either love it or hate it. I felt like while we were given an ending, there was still something left to be desired.

This book begins with all of the draconians on the run from Samael, and so this lasts for a good portion of the beginning of the book. Thus making it very difficult to get into the story. You could probably skip the first 20% and still be okay with the rest of the story. There was a subplot that took up a good portion of the middle of the book that had me wondering if that was how the whole series was going to end, but the way that Marie tied it in to the overall plot was very nice. As far as the action went, you could feel this build up to the very last battle (well a very sporadic and elongated build up, but it was there). Once the last battle scene was upon us, I couldn’t believe all the situations the author put us through! I won’t say anything else about it in fear of giving something away, but I will say it was a battle of epic proportions!

Even though the plot was a little slow to progress, Marie pulled out all the stops and linked all of the books together in a satisfying (or unsatisfying) finale.  All in all,  I still really love this series. The first couple of books I enjoyed immensely more than books 4 and 5, but that didn’t take away from my love of the series.

If you love paranormal action/romance, then you should definitely check out this series!

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

One thought on “Unleash the Storm Review

Leave a Reply

