Posted in Subscription Box, Young Adult

The Best Damn Book Box August Review

The Best Damn Book Box curated by Nicole and her team came in today, and I am super excited! Nicole and her team are still trying to catch up on boxes, and we just received our August boxes this month. I can’t wait for them to be all caught up! I really want the November Villain’s box!

TBDBB is a monthly subscription box:

img_0170

 

“A Book Subscription Box For Your Bookish Delight! We Deliver Adventures To Your Door!  30% off 3 OR 6 MONTH SUBSCRIPTIONS!!! Just use Code MSASAVE30

 

 

  • Some of the Best Damn Authors around!
  • Exclusive items created for each box
  • Top Selling YA novels each month for your reading delight
  • 5 to 6 bookish items, tea, snacks, jewelry, bookmarks, candles, etc., handcrafted by amazing small shops
  • Newly released or Best Sellers Each Month based around a monthly theme!
  • Each Box Donates $1 to a charity each month!”

There are three different types of subscriptions:

  • Monthly: $39.99
  • 3 Month Prepay: $89.99
  • 6 Month Prepay: $169.99
  • Shipping rates are $6.99 US, $10.99 Canada, and $19.99 Internationally

Normally, the boxes ship on or around the 25th of each month in waves.

This “months” theme was “Oz and Everything Wicked”. I have to say though, after opening up the box, I was a little bit disappointed with how sparse it was. I was not impressed what so ever. Giving the box a chance, I quickly dove in to see what goodies was curated for the theme.

img_0171

First up, the info card. The other side of the card is gorgeous. I wish that it was packed in a way that would have prevent it from bending, but hopefully placing it between two books will flatten it back out.

img_0173

The book this month was The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum. The redesigned modern cover art was done by Rock Paper Books, and has a retail value of $10.99.

Goodreads Summary:

Follow the yellow brick road!

Dorothy thinks she’s lost forever when a tornado whirls her and her dog, Toto, into a magical world. To get home, she must find the wonderful wizard in the Emerald City of Oz. On the way she meets the Scarecrow, the Tin Woodman and the Cowardly Lion. But the Wicked Witch of the West has her own plans for the new arrival – will Dorothy ever see Kansas again?

As much as I love the cover, I was a little disappointed that we didn’t receive a new YA book. The previous month was also a new edition of a classic, and I hope that this isn’t going to become a trend. Don’t get me wrong, I love classics, but I already own most of them so getting a new edition is just taking up precious space on my overcrowded bookshelves. =/

img_0169

This mini candle is by Novelly Yours. She is a lot of cute candles on her Etsy shop, so I definitely suggest checking her out! This particular candle is the scent Villanous, on her shop she has the 8 oz for sale for $11.00. I am assuming that this is a sampler, so the retail value for this is probably $2.75. Novelly Yours makes all natural soy wax candles, and this one has scents of stormy nights, pine, winter garden, and fire.

img_0172

This silver plated necklace was made by the Best Damn Craft Shop. They had multiple characters, and I received the rainbow. It is always hard to find them online, so I estimate that this has a value of $8.00.

img_0174

Wicked Witch Finger soaps by Bubble City Soap. You can order these in either sets of 20, 30, or 40. Thus making the retail value for one witch finger to be $1.20. These are very creepy looking by themselves, but it is supposed to have a green apple scent. Too bad it didn’t come before Halloween for me to put in my guest bathroom. After viewing all the items this was the only “wicked” item in the box. Everything else was all sunshine and rainbows all things considered.

img_0175

Last but not least are these super cute magnetic bookmarks by Nerdy Grl Designs. Between subscription boxes and my personal orders I will probably own a little bit of everything from her shop! I get so many compliments from her bookmarks, and most of friends want them too! A full set of Oz Magnetic Bookmarks are $10.00 and there are 6 in the set.  A set of 2 for a custom set have a value of $4.50.

img_0176

Overall, I am not that impressed with this box. My favorite item hands down is magnetic bookmarks and then possibly the candle. This box has an estimated value of $28.00, and considering that the box is $47 a month, I am not happy with it. I understand things happen, but since the box is already late what’s a few extra days to get high quality items? I only have a 6 month subscription, and if the next couple of boxes are not an improvement I don’t think I will continue with this one.

What did you think of this months box?

Septembers Theme is:

mermaidtheme

Octobers Theme is:

Things that Go Bump in the Night (unfortunately, I couldn’t find the promo pic)

Novembers Theme is:

villains2

Decembers Theme is:

nightmarebeforechristmas

This one is more of a celebration of their one year anniversary, so they are redoing their very first box. It is also for new subscribers only, so if someone has stayed with them for an entire year I do not know what kind of box they will get.

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

One thought on “The Best Damn Book Box August Review

Leave a Reply

