Posted in Subscription Box, Young Adult

Uppercase Box November Review

It’s that time of the month again! A new box from Uppercase by Lisa Parkin!

IMG_0024.JPGEvery month you receive:

  • a brand new hardcover book, the book is either signed or you receive a signed bookplate,
  • 1-2 high quality bookish items,
  • Uppercase reading experience with exclusive content,
  • and a special note!

You can choose from two different plans:

Expert plan: comes with everything above for only $23/month plus $6 shipping and handling;

Book exclusive plan: comes with everything above except the 1-2 bookish items for only $17/month plus s/h.

You can check out my other Uppercase reviews here, and my other book subscription reviews here!


img_1861

I know I have said this before, but I really like how Lisa includes a personalized note and a list of the items inside the box. I also like how this month Lisa included who provided that particular item.

img_1862

The book this month is The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon.

Published: November 1st 2016 by Delacorte Press

Goodreads Summary:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

This book has a retail value of $18.99, on Amazon it is $11.41.

Everyone seems to be talking about this book and I am very excited to dive in! This seems like a book I would really enjoy, and lets face it so far I have enjoyed all of my Uppercase books!

img_1863

Did I mention that it’s signed?! Uppercase has solely increased the amount of signed books on my shelves in the past couple of months alone! 🙂

img_1859

To further enjoy your reading experience, when  you get to a particular page you can unlock a new video, poll, or question that corresponds to that spot in the book! This is a very neat idea that no other subscription box that I subscribe to does!

img_1858

The Sun is Also a Star temporary tattoo. “Love always changes everything.”

This doesn’t have a company associated with it, so I am going to estimate that this tattoo has a value of $2.

Just how cute are these Harry Potter cookie cutters by FrostedCo?! This was a custom order so they don’t have them on their website. On their website (either their personal or Etsy shop) they sell their cookie cutters for $3.00 a piece. So this set has a value of $6.00

img_1864

“Books are Magical” greeting card set by 9th Letter Press. This was a custom order, so they do not have this particular card set on their website. A similar unicorn card has a value of $5. That makes this set have an estimated value of $25.

img_1860

This month, Uppercase included a Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth chapter sampler! I have this book on my list of books to buy for the new year, and I can’t wait to see what the first chapter holds! I would not mind at all if this is January or even February’s book! *hint hint* I don’t think this item has a value on it, you can find an excerpt online if you want or click this link and read it.

img_1865

Overall, this box has an estimated value of $44. Not bad, but if the greeting cards were not included, this box would cost less than the subscription. Considering I really only like the book and the HP cookie cutters, this box didn’t appeal to me as much as past boxes. Uppercase still tends to be one of my favorite boxes, and I can’t wait to see what they have in store for us next month!!

What do you think of this months Uppercase?

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

One thought on “Uppercase Box November Review

Leave a Reply

