Posted in Subscription Box

Uppercase Box October Review

It’s that time of the month again! A new box from Uppercase by Lisa Parkin!

IMG_0024.JPGEvery month you receive:

  • a brand new hardcover book, the book is either signed or you receive a signed bookplate,
  • 1-2 high quality bookish items,
  • Uppercase reading experience with exclusive content,
  • and a special note!

You can choose from two different plans:

Expert plan: comes with everything above for only $23/month plus $6 shipping and handling;

Book exclusive plan: comes with everything above except the 1-2 bookish items for only $17/month plus s/h.

You can check out my other Uppercase reviews here, and my other book subscription reviews here!

img_1573

As always there is a information card along with a personal note from Lisa.

img_1574

Also included in every box is a bookmark that takes you to the questions, polls, and/or videos that relate to that particular spot in the book.

img_1572

The book this month is Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter.

Published: September 20th 2016 by Tor Teen

Goodreads Summary:

In the enchanted kingdom of Brooklyn, the fashionable people put on cute shoes, go to parties in warehouses, drink on rooftops at sunset, and tell themselves they’ve arrived. A whole lot of Brooklyn is like that now—but not Vassa’s working-class neighborhood.

In Vassa’s neighborhood, where she lives with her stepmother and bickering stepsisters, one might stumble onto magic, but stumbling out again could become an issue. Babs Yagg, the owner of the local convenience store, has a policy of beheading shoplifters—and sometimes innocent shoppers as well. So when Vassa’s stepsister sends her out for light bulbs in the middle of night, she knows it could easily become a suicide mission.

But Vassa has a bit of luck hidden in her pocket, a gift from her dead mother. Erg is a tough-talking wooden doll with sticky fingers, a bottomless stomach, and a ferocious cunning. With Erg’s help, Vassa just might be able to break the witch’s curse and free her Brooklyn neighborhood. But Babs won’t be playing fair…

This book retails for $17.99, but you can find it on Amazon for $11.00.

Last month I went to the Texas Teen Book Festival, and Sarah Porter was there. I was very close to buying her book at the festival to have her sign it. I am glad that I gave myself a budget and wasn’t able to buy it. This has been on my Amazon wish list since I found out about it, and I am happy to be able to take it off!

Update: I finally finished the book and I really enjoyed it! Check out my review here.

img_1579

It is also signed!! I shouldn’t be surprised every month, but I always forget that their books are always signed each month. It’s a nice perk.

img_1576

Erg character sticker- value $3.00? I don’t really do anything with the stickers I receive, but I may place her inside my book somewhere, just so I don’t loose her!

img_1575

Besides the book. These magnetic cassette tape bookmarks, might be my favorite item in the box! I found them on a website called Connect Design for $6.00. Super cute.

img_1577

Punk Rock Writers Journal- Chronicle Books with a value of $9.95. This is a pretty neat journal, each page has a different author in the corner and the pages seemed to be made from very sturdy paper.

img_1578

Overall, this box has a value of $29.95. A little low, but with a signed book that I believe increases the value of the box. I am always pleased with Lisa’s curations and can’t wait to see what she has in store for us next month!

What do you think of this month’s box?

 

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

