Posted in Subscription Box

Lit-Cube October “Tale As Old As Time” Box Review

Lit-Cube is a monthly subscription box that sends you a book, a wearable, and other little bookish goodies.

The cost: $29.99/month + $4.99 s/h to U.S. and $14.99 s/h to Canada

<–This is what it looks like on the inside, after you first open it! The anticipation is exciting. This months theme was decided by a vote, and the winner was “Tale As Old As Time”!

Check out my other Lit-Cube reviews and book box subscription reviews !

I love the themed description card, I like that Lit-Cube . I may be biased because I love Beauty and the Beast. And as always, they included on the other side information of what you will find in the box.

img_1559

The book this month is a special edition for Lit-Cube.

Beauty (Everland Ever After) by Caroline Lee

Published: October 1st 2016 (paperback), originally published May 31st 2016 for Kindle

Goodreads Summary:

A faded matron and a blinded musician… but which is the Beauty and which is the Beast?

Twice-widowed Arabella Mayor has made a place for herself and her son in Everland, selling and lending her beloved books to other bibliophiles in the sweet town. But she’s running out of money, and ten-year-old Eddie is giving her fits, and their future is uncertain. Re-marriage might have once been an option, but Arabella knows she’s past her prime, and isn’t the Beauty she used to be. And as her beauty faded, so did her worth. What does she have left?

World-renown violinist Vincenzo Bellini is at ease with his carefully cultivated reputation of a beastly recluse. After all, the fewer people looking at his hideous scars, the better. Ready to retire, he’s trying to hide in Everland, but doesn’t count on the townsfolk being so curious… especially a particular bookseller who reminds him of the life he abandoned long ago. Can he teach her that worth isn’t tied to their appearances, or will he have to abandon his plans for a future here in Everland?

The paperback version on Amazon is $9.99, but you can get the Kindle version for only $2.99. img_1560

I really like fairy tale reimaginings, but I am not so sure about this one. It doesn’t sound like something I normally read, but I am willing to give it a try.  What makes this a Lit-Cube special edition, is that the very first page is a letter written to the subscribers from the author and then she signed it! I thought that was a pretty cool element that I haven’t seen in a Lit-Cube box before.

img_1555

Not only did we get a signed book, we also received a signed bookmark from the author.

img_1561

The wearable this month is an exclusive Beauty and the Beast rose necklace. This has a value of $9.99.  The mini replica of the enchanted rose is very cute. I know a little girl whose birthday is coming up that would love this!

img_1554

Our edible this month is a large cinnamon pretzel with icing. This is from the Pretzel Haus Bakery, on Amazon you can purchase a pack of 10 for $29.99. Which would make one pretzel have a value of $2.99. I haven’t had a chance to try this yet, but it is super soft in the package.

This is an Exclusive Tale as Old as Time Jewelry Box, retails for $24.95. This is very cute, if I had a little girl she would love this.

img_1558

The last little goodie, is this metal rose bookmark. This has a value of $4.99. It comes with a very cute blank card, and an envelope with a rose on it. I have a new obsession with bookmarks, and I am excited to add this to my growing collection.

Overall, I am very pleased with this month’s curation. This box has an estimated value of $52.91. The book is signed so that in my opinion raises the value of the book.

What do you think of this month’s Lit-Cube “Tale as Old as Time” Box?

Next month’s theme is:

screen-shot-2016-10-19-at-11-50-33-am

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

