Posted in Subscription Box

Limited Edition Lit-Cube “Lost in Austen” Box Review

Lit-Cube is a monthly subscription box that sends you a book, a wearable, and other little bookish goodies.

The cost: $29.99/month + $4.99 s/h to U.S. and $14.99 s/h to Canada

<–This is what it looks like on the inside, after you first open it! The anticipation is exciting. Last months theme was “Haunted Hearts” and it was guest curated by AG Howard the author of the book!

Check out my other Lit-Cube reviews and book box subscription reviews !

For a limited edition box (such as this one) it is a little bit more costly. The cost is $44.95 which included shipping and handling. These are one time boxes and are not part of the monthly subscription, I believe they only do 4 boxes a year, but I could be mistaken. This was my first limited edition box, and so far I really like it! I might consider buying more in the future! These were delayed by about a month; first they had a problem with one of their suppliers, then they had to order new items from a new one, and then Hurricane Matthew happened. Some costumers were upset with the wait, but I didn’t mind. I guess since I have been waiting for boxes from another subscription service, I have learned how to be patient.

First off, let me just say that I love the box! It is super cute, and I almost don’t want to throw it away. The card beside the box is also beautiful and fits in with the theme very well. I wish there was a product information card like in their normal boxes, but it’s okay I’ll live.

img_1532

The book this month is The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Bernie Su and Kate Rorick. This was published on June 24th 2014 by Touchstone.

Goodreads Summary:

Based on the Emmy Award–winning YouTube series The Lizzie Bennet Diaries.

Twenty‑four‑year‑old grad student Lizzie Bennet is saddled with student loan debt and still living at home along with her two sisters—beautiful Jane and reckless Lydia. When she records her reflections on life for her thesis project and posts them on YouTube, she has no idea The Lizzie Bennet Diaries will soon take on a life of their own, turning the Bennet sisters into internet celebrities seemingly overnight.

When rich and handsome Bing Lee comes to town, along with his stuck‑up friend William Darcy, things really start to get interesting for the Bennets—and for Lizzie’s viewers. But not everything happens on‑screen. Lucky for us, Lizzie has a secret diary.

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet takes readers deep inside Lizzie’s world and well beyond the confines of her camera—from the wedding where she first meets William Darcy to the local hangout of Carter’s bar, and much more. Lizzie’s private musings are filled with revealing details about the Bennet household, including her growing suspicions about her parents’ unstable financial situation, her sister’s budding relationship with Bing Lee, the perils of her unexpected fame, and her uncertainty over her future—and whom she wants to share it with.

Featuring plenty of fresh twists to delight fans and new readers alike, The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet expands on the web series phenomenon that captivated a generation and reimagines the Pride and Prejudice story like never before.

This seems to be my year of Pride and Prejudice retellings, and I am okay with that! This book sounds very interesting and although I have never heard of it before, I am glad that it was included in this box. This paperback book has a retail value of $15.00, but you can purchase it on Amazon for $12.82.

img_1530

These promotional bookmarks were also included in the box this month. At first I wasn’t sure why there was so many people on the bookmark, but then after reading the premise it made sense. You can check out their page here. Since they are bookmarks, and I don’t have a product card, I am not sure how much they are worth. I’ll give them an estimation of $1.50/ea.

img_1539

One of my favorite items in the box, are these Lit-Cuties! They are Lit-Cube exclusive plush dolls, and they are adorable! You can find them on the Lit-Cube website for $29.90, free shipping in the U.S. Being a huge Pride and Prejudice fan, I am very excited to have these displayed on my bookshelf.

img_1536

I have a ton of coffee cups, but none that are literary themed until now! This one says “Know your own happiness” -Jane Austen. I wish it was a little easier to read, but the theme is simplicity and classic. I found some other mugs online for about $12.99, so I guess this mug is also around that price? I wish I knew who made it, because I would love to get possibly more for my friends who love Austen as much as I do!

img_1534

These wax crumbles by Crumble Candle Co. made the box smell heavenly! This was an exclusively made item for Lit-Cube, so it is not on their website. They sell their wax melts for $6.00, so this is probably the same. I love the scent, and I can’t wait to use it in my warmer!

img_1533-1

The last items in the box were these two Jane Austen journals. The bigger one simply says “Pride and Prejudice” and the smaller one says “There is no charm equal to tenderness of heard” -Jane Austen. I like that these journals match in color, but realistically I don’t need two. I have so many journals, I barely use them enough as it is. Maybe this will force me to journal more, or use it for my continuous to do lists that I like to make. There isn’t any indication of who made the journal, so I will guestimate that the big journal is $10 and the little one is $5. They are very well made and have a bookmark to help keep your place.

img_1538

Overall, I am very pleased with this limited edition box! I would have been perfectly happy with just the plush toys and the mug! This box has an estimated overall value of $79.91. I really like majority of the items in this box, one or two of the items were placed in there specifically because the box was delayed. The owner of Lit-Cube kept us very well informed, and I didn’t particularly mind that this was late. It just makes October a little bit more special!

 

 

If you liked the Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy plush dolls, they are having a pre-order of Jane Eyre and Mr. Rochester! They are currently on sale for $27.50, but they are only shipping inside the U.S. They will be shipped in December, just in time for Christmas!

 

 

 

 

What do you think of this “Lost in Austin” box?

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

