Posted in Young Adult

P.S. I Like You Review

IMG_0070P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

Published: July 26th 2016 by Point

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Minor spoiler alert (I think)!

Goodreads Summary:

Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds thatsomeone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

“You’re my favorite way to pass the time. But time stands still when you’re on my mind.”

This book came in my August Uppercase subscription, and I am so glad that it did! I have been reading a lot of fantasy lately, and it’s nice to mix it up here and there. This was a very cute story about two “anonymous” pen pals trying to pass their time in chemistry class. This book reminded me a lot of A Cinderella Story with Hillary Duff and Chad Michael Murray. The only difference is they wrote e-mails and in this story it’s old fashioned letters stuffed under the desk.

“I’m with you on measuring this week in letters and the two-day drought we are about to experience. If only there was a way to transport letters faster, through some sort of electronic device that codes messages and sends them through the air. But that’s just crazy talk.”

Lily is described as weird, quirky, and kind of hipstery (is that a word? Well it is now). She is a self-taught guitar player who likes to write lyrics, and wants to submit a song to a competition. All throughout the semester, Lily can’t find the words and makes excuses to not share her lyrics with anyone.

Cade is the exact opposite of Lily. He is “mainstream” and very popular at school who also happens to play baseball. From Lily’s pov, we see Cade as a class A jerk, who is always trying to make Lily miserable. They have a hatred for each other that goes back years. When Lily finally explains why she hates him, I just don’t see how one incident could incite such hatred.

“But then I think: my guitar is just a thing. You know? And my brother is a person. A thing is not more important than a person…”

Plot wise this book moved very quickly. There was a lot of highs and lows and for the most part I followed along the emotional rollercoaster with Lily. I got so caught up in the moment, that I found myself smiling when something cute happened and tearing up when Lily starts crying.

This story is nothing if not a walking cliche. Almost every situation was a cliche of some sort, but for the most part it didn’t bother me too much. Let’s see…boy drama? Check. Friend drama? Check. Mean girl trying to ruin main protagonists happiness? Check. Love triangle? More like a brief square that never really amounted to anything, but check.

 

“We don’t need any cutesy traditions. We’re solid you and me.”

West could have ruined this book by having a love triangle be the main focus. Thankfully, it didn’t last long and two of the boys came in and out of the picture fairly quickly. (Whatever happened to the clarinet guy who kicked the rabbit? Two dates and he just disappears for good?) At least with Lucas we know why he is no longer in the picture. The relationship between Lily and Cade progressed naturally, and I just wished that she got over her prejudices earlier so that they could have been a couple more in the book!

Need a quick contemporary read with a sense of humor? Then I suggest picking up this book! Totally worth it.

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

2 thoughts on “P.S. I Like You Review

Leave a Reply

