Posted in Subscription Box, Young Adult

Best Damn Book Box Review

I received my very first The Best Damn Book Box today, and I am super excited to open it up and start my review! This is really the June “Game of Thrones” box, but because of family issues they weren’t able to send out my box until this week. So August is going to be a busy month for the FedEx guy.

The BDBB is a monthly subscription box:

“A Book Subscription Box For Your Bookish Delight! We Deliver Adventures To Your Door!  30% off 3 OR 6 MONTH SUBSCRIPTIONS!!! Just use Code MSASAVE30

  • Some of the Best Damn Authors around!
  • Exclusive items created for each box
  • Top Selling YA novels each month for your reading delight
  • 5 to 6 bookish items, tea, snacks, jewelry, bookmarks, candles, etc., handcrafted by amazing small shops
  • Newly released or Best Sellers Each Month based around a monthly theme!
  • Each Box Donates $1 to a charity each month!”

There are three different types of subscriptions:

  • Monthly: $39.99
  • 3 Month Prepay: $89.99
  • 6 Month Prepay: $169.99
  • Shipping rates are $6.99 US, $10.99 Canada, and $19.99 Internationally

Normally, the boxes ship on or around the 25th of each month in waves.

img_1076img_1077

Just like in most subscription boxes, this one has a description card included in the box. Since the theme was “Game of Thrones”, the description card came inside a wax sealed envelope. Pretty neat way to incorporate the theme!

The book this month is The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

Published: May 17th 2016 by Belzer + Bray

Goodreads Summary:

Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the Tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.

And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the Tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.

Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter—even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?

For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with—beautiful, whip smart, imaginative—and he can’t stop thinking about her.

And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love… or be killed himself.

As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear… the Crown’s Game is not one to lose.

This book retails for $17.99, but you can find it on Amazon for $10.58.

The premise of this book looks really interesting. My only problem is that I already have this on my TBR shelf. =/. If this book had come in on time, I’m pretty sure I could have avoided having a duplicate book. But, it is okay I am giving it to a friend, silver lining.

Once I have a chance to read it, I will definitely add my review here!

Update (8/30/16): Finally had a chance to read it! Check out my full review!

These super adorable bookmarks are made by Nerdy Grl Designs. This shop is based out of Florida, and she makes magnetic bookmarks and stickers. All of her items are super cute, in fact I just found a birthday present for one of my good friends! This particular High Fantasy Magnetic Bookmarks are sold individually for $3.15 a piece, or the entire set of 7 for $11.00.

This is the box of bookmarks (one can never have too many)! This is a gorgeous, hand crafted, water color bookmark of Jon Snow by Marquis du Soleil. You can find this 2×5 bookmark on her Etsy page for only $2.25.

A gorgeous art print of the Mother of Dragons and her Dragons also by Marquis du Soliel. This 8×10 print can be purchased for only $12.00.

This handmade Targaryen necklace by The Best Damn Craft Shop. You either received Stark or Targaryen, and since I had no idea who any of those people (I am assuming people) are I had to look them up. I couldn’t find this particular vendor, so I am estimating the value for the necklace to be around $10.00.

Believe it or not, but this particular item is a coaster! This is a hand crafted Dragons Egg coaster by Pigsey Art. I couldn’t find this coaster on the website, but I found some others that come in a set of 4 for $24.99. Since our box only came with one coaster, the retail value on it is approximately $6.25.

This button is an extra item added for last months wait. It is a button pin of the Mother of Dragons by Infinity Designs.

Since the box was extra late, this was an extra bonus item inside the box. This is a Jon Snow wax crumble by Once Upon A Wick. Some boxes received the Jon Snow crumble and others received the Dragons Blood. The Jon Snow wax crumble has a scent of “Patchouli, bergamot, Cedar wood, Sandal wood and amber. It’s fiery and calming.” You can purchase this item by itself for only $6.00 or you can purchase them together as a combo for only $10.00. I love this item, it made the box smell super nice and I can’t wait to be able to use it after I finish my current scent.

There was a couple extra “filler” items inside the box. One was a book plate for Crystal Crowned, the final installment of the ‘Air Awakens’ series by Elise Kova. Lastly, there was a bookmark (told you the box of bookmarks) for The Bad Seed by Michael Lackey.

“The light shines the brightest when the world is at its darkest.” -Michael Lackey 

I have a 6 month prepaid subscription, so it comes out to approximately $35 a month. This box has an estimated value of $53, that’s a pretty good deal. Overall, I would say I like most of the items in the box. My favorite items would have to be the magnetic bookmarks and the wax crumble. I have a few friends who are GOT fanatics, so some of these items will make great Christmas gifts for one of them!

TBDBB is definitely one of my most expensive book subscriptions, so I will have to wait to get a few more boxes to see if I will continue with this one. So far, I don’t like it mainly because I purchased this subscription back in May and I received my first box in August. I understand that there was a death in the family and that things happen, but at least be only a month behind instead of two. They did keep us up to date on their boxes and what was going on, so I really did appreciate that.

What do you think of this (well June’s) months box? Are you a Game of Thrones fan? What did you think of the items?

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

