Posted in Young Adult

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Review

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne

Published: July 31st 2016 by Little Brown UK

I will try to be as spoiler free as possible, but that may not happen. So you have been warned. =)

Goodreads Summary:

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, a new play by Jack Thorne, is the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. It will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on 30th July 2016

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes darkness comes from unexpected places.

 

Let me just start off by saying that this book was ah-may-zing!!!! From the very beginning it just hit you in the feels and it never stopped. It’s been nine years since the last Harry Potter book release, and I forgot how hard it is sometimes to stay up to midnight. =/ Good thing I went with a couple of friends who didn’t mind all things Harry Potter or coloring postcards with me to past the time!

 

 

 

After reading the script, I really wish I could go to London so that I can watch the show! I guess, I’ll just have to settle with my Starbucks coffee and Krispy Kreme donut as I read the book.


Alright, so on to the review. As much as I love every thing Harry Potter, this book was a little bit of a let down. I know it is based on the play, but I was still expecting a little bit more complexity like in the books. There was a little bit of magic, a little bit of Hogwarts, and a somewhat plot twist that was kinda foreseen but kind of questionable. There was also a lot of teenage angst.

Let me just say that Scorpius is a great friend. He has been dealt a really bad hand in life, with his father being Draco (who was associated with being a death eater) and also with rumors that Voldemort is really his father. I loved how even though he was treated horribly, he doesn’t let it affect him too much. He be became best friends with Albus Potter and isn’t afraid of telling Albus that he is being a bad friend. I was secretly hoping that a relationship would bloom between the two, and was sadly disappointed when it didn’t happen. Scorpius reminded me a lot of Hermione, and I thought it was interesting that he would ask her daughter out in the end. (Although, I have a theory on that, but I won’t go into detail here).

Albus on the other hand is very selfish. As the middle child of Harry and Ginny Potter, he definitely has the middle child syndrome down pat. It is always about him, him and his dad, Harry, and how he doesn’t want to live in his dads shadow. When Albus needed a good face slapping, Scorpius was there to make him realize that the world doesn’t revolve around him and other people have it worse off. Out of all of the characters, Albus grew the most, and I am glad that by the end he wasn’t so depressed as he was in the beginning.

Dumbledore Quote

Okay, my post is getting a little long winded so I will try to wrap it up. I enjoyed going back into Harry’s world, I just felt like we were missing all the elements that we loved in the books. I wish that JK would have taken the script from the play and then turned it into an actual HP book. (Side note: I really enjoyed the new Draco, who cared about his family and didn’t pick fights just because he wanted to.)

The whole going back in time to bring back Cedric Diggory, felt like an episode out of Doctor Who than Harry Potter. At least Scorpius realized that they needed to stop going back in time because it kept affecting things in the future, and not for the better.

Overall, I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars. Probably a little bit liberal, but I love the Harry Potter universe so I am a little biased.

Have you read this book yet? What did you think?

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

5 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Review

Leave a Reply

