Posted in Subscription Box, Young Adult

July Lit-Cube Review

It’s finally here!!! I have been waiting for over a month to get this subscription, and it finally arrived at my door this morning! So without further ado, here are some little facts about Lit-Cube and my review!

Lit-Cube is a monthly subscription box that sends you a book, a wearable, and other little bookish goodies.
IMG_0689

The cost: $29.99/month + $4.99 s/h to U.S. and $14.99 s/h to Canada

<–This is what it looks like on the inside, after you first open it! The anticipation is exciting. This months theme was “An Awfully Big Adventure.”

Check out my other Lit-Cube reviews here. Check out my other book box subscription reviews here!

 

The book this month is The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse, published May 9th 2016 by Clean Teen Publishing.

Goodreads Summary:

Magic can do a lot—give you flight, show you mermaids, help you taste the stars, and… solve the budget crisis? That’s what the grown-ups will do with it if they ever make it to Neverland to steal its magic and bring their children home.

However, Gwen doesn’t know this. She’s just a sixteen-year-old girl with a place on the debate team and a powerful crush on Jay, the soon-to-be homecoming king. She doesn’t know her little sister could actually run away with Peter Pan, or that she might have to chase after her to bring her home safe. Gwen will find out though—and when she does, she’ll discover she’s in the middle of a looming war between Neverland and reality.

She’ll be out of place as a teenager in Neverland, but she won’t be the only one. Peter Pan’s constant treks back to the mainland have slowly aged him into adolescence as well. Soon, Gwen will have to decide whether she’s going to join impish, playful Peter in his fight for eternal youth… or if she’s going to scramble back to reality in time for the homecoming dance.

Peter Pan was one of my favorite Disney movies growing up, so I cannot wait to dive into this book! It looks very promising.

The retail value for this book is $10.95, but you can find it on Amazon for $6.60.

This cube also came with a signed bookplate by the author! This will definitely go into my book before I lose it, or one of my fur babies mistakes it for scrap paper!

Update: (August 17, 2016) I finally finished the book, check out my review here!


img_0998

 

This Neverland bag was included in this months subscription. I couldn’t find this exact bag online anywhere as this is a Lit-Cube exclusive item, but I did find a bag that had the exact same quote. The exclusive Lit-Cube bag has a retail value of $19.95, a similar bag by thebookstheppl is for sale for $19.55.

Just with the two book subscriptions, I am collecting a good amount of bookish bags! I don’t know what I am going to do with them all!

The wearable item this month is this exclusive “Faith, Trust, & Pixie Dust” adjustable copper ring, with a retail value of $14.95. I found this ring on etsy for $13.00 by LindaMunequita

This ring is super adorable, and I am glad that it is adjustable or I would never be able to wear it! A problem with having smaller than average fingers =/

These sunglasses are not on the what’s inside your cube card. So it is most likely the extra item that was promised for last month’s box being late. I don’t know if I will ever wear these sunglasses, but I really do love the color. The also have a stamp on one of the sides that says “bibliophile. http://www.lit-cube.com&#8221;
I am guessing on the value of these glasses, but I found some similar without any writing for about $10.

 

I love when Lit-Cube has snackables in their boxes. The cookie from the wonderland box was delicious, so I have high hopes for this pastry. This Megpies! Handmade, all-natural, artisan tart has a value of $3.95.

“What kid-at-heart doesn’t love poptarts & hand pies? Especially fresh-out-of-the-oven??? Never grow up, I say!” http://www.megpiesnyc.com

 

 

 

Another goodie in the box, is this tinker bell inspired keychain! This is a very pretty keychain, and once I retire my Sailor Moon keychain, Tink will go on my keys! Unfortunately, I can’t have more keychains than keys.

This particular item has a value of $9.95.

“I do believe in fairies, I do! I do!”

4×6 card/envelope hand-designed by Lexy Olivia was the last item I pulled out of my cube. You can find this on her etsy shop for $7.95. This is very cute, and I cannot wait to write someone a birthday note!

Overall, this month was a great curation from Lit-Cube. I liked all of my items and the tart was very tasty. This cube has an approximate value of $71, and I think the most value so far since I’ve had a subscription.

What do you think of this month’s Lit-Cube?

Next month’s theme is….

8.-LC-IG-AUG2016.v1-2-1024x1024

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

