Posted in Subscription Box, Young Adult

July Uppercase Box Review

It’s that time of the month again! A new box from Uppercase by Lisa Parkin!

IMG_0024.JPGEvery month you receive:

  • a brand new hardcover book, the book is either signed or you receive a signed bookplate,
  • 1-2 high quality bookish items,
  • Uppercase reading experience with exclusive content,
  • and a special note!

You can choose from two different plans:

Expert plan: comes with everything above for only $23/month plus $6 shipping and handling;

Book exclusive plan: comes with everything above except the 1-2 bookish items for only $17/month plus s/h.

 

IMG_0699

 

 

All the items are inside this cute little bag. This month came with a signed hardcover book, an exclusive button, sticky notes set, stamped pencils, and of course a bookmark that unlocks all of the exclusive content!

 

 

IMG_0032.JPG

 

The first item I pulled out of my box was this personalized letter. It has details of all of the items inside the box and also a personalized letter of why this book was picked this month! I really like receiving these, because it feels as if the owner is connecting to us individually rather than getting mass quantities of subscription boxes out there.

 

The book this month is This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab. Published July 5th 2016 by Greenwillow Books.

IMG_0031Goodreads Summary:

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

IMG_0034The list price on this book is $17.99, but on Amazon you can purchase it for $10.36!

The only downside to this book is that if you also subscribe to Owlcrate, then you will get the same book. I don’t know about their book, but Uppercase’s book is signed! So to me, a signed book has more value than just a regular book. I love getting signed books from Uppercase, I didn’t have any before and now I am starting a good collection!

I can’t wait to dive into this book after I finished my current one, but once I do you will be able to check out my review here!

Update (August 23, 2016): I loved this book! It started off a bit slow, but it definitely picked up in pace all the way until the end! Check out my full review here!

IMG_0027

 

As always that is included in the box is a bookmark that unlocks exclusive content. Normally I always forget about this part of the subscription, but I think this time around I will give it a try!

 

 

This Vintage Stickies in assorted sizes notes set is very adorable! I can’t wait to start using them! The photographs were taken by Phat Dog Vintage, they also have a little shop and a blog that you can check out! This particular set of sticky notes was designed by Galison, and has a retail value of $10.99. I love sticky notes, and one can never have too many at the office!

IMG_0026

Of course in order to use your new vintage sticky note set, you will need something to write with! These are a custom stamped book lover pencil set, and an Uppercase exclusive! Since I don’t know who made them, I could only find something similar. IceyDesigns on Etsy has a similar listing for a set of 7 Book Lovers Pencil set for only $13.95. Although their set is in pastel colors, they do have similar sayings such as “I read YA” and “Book Nerd”.

Super cute.

IMG_0025

 

The last item in the box is a This Savage Song exclusive button! I can’t find this button in particular, but you can get similar buttons in stores for about $1.99 (at least at Hot Topic you can). IMG_0033

Overall, I really like all of the items in this subscription box! For a box that is $29 a month, this month the estimated value totals to be about $37.29. Not bad!

Did you get an Uppercase box this month, what are your thoughts on the items?

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

One thought on “July Uppercase Box Review

Leave a Reply

