Posted in Uncategorized

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

The movie came out back in February this year, and I just finished reading the book. (You can check out my review here.) I watched the movie when it first came out with my sister, before reading the book, shame I know. Honestly, I really enjoyed the movie more than the book. Β And that doesn’t happen often.

I already wrote a long blog post on my views on the book so I won’t reiterate them here. Long story short, I thought the book was very long winded and just mediocre. (I gave it 3 stars and I think that was very liberal).

The movie on the other hand I quite enjoyed.

The book and movie followed each other pretty much until Elizabeth goes to Rosings. After that the book follows the same timeline as PP and the movie goes in a completely different direction with snippets of the original throughout. One similarity in the book and movie, that I wish was fixed in the movie, was the awkward dialogue. In the book there was many awkward conversations just randomly placed in the story. In the movie, the really big one I noticed was after the fight scene at the first ball when Darcy was speaking to Bingley about Elizabeth. It just felt very stalkerish and out of place. At least for the movie, I wasn’t constantly checking the time to see when it will be over.

I am not a fan of Mr. Collins, in PP or PPZ or even in the movie adaptations, but in this movie version I couldn’t get enough! I loved Matt Smith as Mr. Collins, I don’t know why but I do. (And no, I am not a fan of Doctor Who. Sorry.)

I could go on and on, but there is no fun in that. I suggest save yourself some time and just watch the movie instead of reading the book. I hardly ever make that recommendation, and whereas the movie wasn’t great, it was 10 times better than the book.

Have you read and/or watched the movie? What did you think?

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

