Posted in Fiction

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies Review

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith, illustrated by Philip SmileyPPZ

Published: May 1st 2009 by Quirk Classics

Goodreads Summary:

“It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains.”

So begins Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, an expanded edition of the beloved Jane Austen novel featuring all-new scenes of bone-crunching zombie mayhem. As our story opens, a mysterious plague has fallen upon the quiet English village of Meryton—and the dead are returning to life! Feisty heroine Elizabeth Bennet is determined to wipe out the zombie menace, but she’s soon distracted by the arrival of the haughty and arrogant Mr. Darcy. What ensues is a delightful comedy of manners with plenty of civilized sparring between the two young lovers—and even more violent sparring on the blood-soaked battlefield. Can Elizabeth vanquish the spawn of Satan? And overcome the social prejudices of the class-conscious landed gentry? Complete with romance, heartbreak, swordfights, cannibalism, and thousands of rotting corpses, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies transforms a masterpiece of world literature into something you’d actually want to read.

“It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains.”

Okay, so I jumped on the bandwagon and read this book after the movie came out. For the most part I enjoyed the movie, so I picked up this book at Barnes and Noble the other day to give it a try. I have to say I was quite disappointed in the book, and I was really hoping I would enjoy it. I guess my love of the original work prevented me from enjoying the new zombie aspect. The only thing similar between the two works, was the story line. For the most part PPZ follows the same timeline as PP. The writing seemed a bit forced, it doesn’t flow like PP does. It seemed as if Grahame-Smith wanted to write in the Old English style but make it more modern so that the younger generation could understand it more. It worked in some places and in most places it did not. So if you didn’t understand all of the sarcasm, insults, hidden body language meaning, or hidden agendas in the original, you will definitely be able to pick them up here.

“The business of Mr. Bennett’s life was to keep his daughters alive. The business of Mrs. Bennett’s was to get them married.”

The characters for the most part were pretty much the same, except add in zombie slaying for most of them. Mrs. Bennett was still annoying and didn’t really see a danger to potentially becoming a zombie, she just wanted her daughters married so that they could put away their swords. Elizabeth, who was my favorite in PP, was still strong willed and stubborn in this version. She just had an extra added personality quirk of wanting to kill zombies and visualizing killing anyone she is annoyed with. Although, I did enjoy her wanting to slit her sisters throat for talking too much about nothing of importance. I did not like that everyone was basically just killing people to show off their skills. If the zombie apocalypse was happening, I think I would want as many ninjas and skilled warriors around to fight the zombies rather than killing ninjas to prove my warrior princessness.

“Thank you, sir, but I am perfectly content being the bride of death.”

I think I would have enjoyed the book more if it was shorter. By around 100 pages, I just kept flipping through the back to see how much longer the book was. Even though I really enjoyed the original, I was doing the same thing for that one, so at least they are the same in that aspect.

“Of all the weapons she had commanded, Elizabeth knew the least of love; and of all the weapons in the world, love was the most dangerous.”

Okay last rant and then I promise I will end my review. I did not like the ending. Elizabeth prided herself in being a fine warrior and found that Mr. Darcy was a match in fighting skills. So why, after getting married, does she have to hang up her sword? You get married and you no longer want to hunt zombies? Doesn’t make sense. If anything, I would want to fight side by side my partner because I know they will always have my back. I saw that this was book one in a trilogy, and honestly I will not be reading the rest of this series. Where I did find some of the one liners funny, I just didn’t enjoy it that much to continue.

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars.

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

One thought on “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies Review

Leave a Reply

