Posted in Uncategorized, Weekly Photo Challenge

Weekly Photo Challenge: Opposites

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0982.
Las Cuevas field station, Belize

This weeks photo challenge is opposites! I chose this picture because I just got back a few days ago from Belize! We stayed at the Las Cuevas field station and on one of our hikes we went to one of the many caves. The Mayans used to use caves for their sacrifices and rituals.

The story goes that the Mayans believed that there was 13 levels in Heaven, which was why the sun traveled 13 times across the sky. When the sun went down, it would transform into a jaguar and enter the cave. The cave symbolized the entrance to the underworld and the jaguar would go through the 9 levels of hell before coming back out and transforming back into the sun. I am paraphrasing a lot, but this is the gist of what I learned from our guide!

Pretty neat!

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

