Posted in Young Adult

Lit-Cube June Review

I know I am a couple of days past June, but I was out of the country for two weeks and just got home! I finally was able to open my Lit-Cube box, and I was super excited about all the goodies we received this month!

Lit-Cube is a monthly subscription box that sends you a book, a wearable, and other little bookish goodies.
IMG_0689

The cost: $29.99/month + $4.99 s/h to U.S. and $14.99 s/h to Canada

<–This is what it looks like on the inside, after you first open it! The anticipation is exciting. This months theme was “Roaring 20’s Mystery.”

 

IMG_0018

 

First we get a card that gives you details on all the items inside as well as a value for each of the items listed. We also received a little card with the months theme, that you can use as a bookmark I guess.

 

IMG_0021

 

This months book is Evergreen Falls by Kimberly Freeman.

Published: August 26th 2014 by Hachette Australia

Goodreads Summary:

A long-forgotten secret, a scandalous attraction and a place where two women’s lives are changed forever – Evergreen Falls is the captivating new novel from Kimberley Freeman.

1926: Violet Armstrong is one of the few remaining members of staff working at the grand Evergreen Spa Hotel as it closes down over winter. Only a handful of guests are left, including the heir to a rich grazing family, his sister and her suave suitor. When a snowstorm moves in, the hotel is cut off and they are all trapped. No one could have predicted what would unfold. When the storm clears they must all keep the devastating secrets hidden.

2014: After years of putting her sick brother’s needs before her own, Lauren Beck leaves her home and takes a job at a Blue Mountains cafe, the first stage of the Evergreen Spa Hotel’s renovations. There she meets Tomas, the Danish architect who is overseeing the project, and an attraction begins to grow. In a wing of the old hotel, Lauren finds a series of passionate love letters dated back to 1926, alluding to an affair – and a shocking secret.

If she can unravel this long-ago mystery, will it make Lauren brave enough to take a risk and change everything in her own life?

Inspired by elements of her grandmother’s life, a rich and satisfying tale of intrigue, heartbreak and love from the author of the bestselling Lighthouse Bay and Wildflower Hill.

The list price for this novel is $16.00. On Amazon you can purchase this in paperback for $10.00 or on your Kindle for $10.99.

This seems like a really interesting book, and I cannot wait to dive right into it! I will post a review here after I read it.

Update (7/25/2016): I really enjoyed this book! Check out my review here!

IMG_0016

 

The next item in the box, that I really like is this Great Gatsby quote pillow case! It is super cute, and I cannot wait to find a pillow to put inside so that I can display it somewhere in my house! This is an 18×18 pillow cover that according to the card has a $19.95 value.

 

 

IMG_0017

Another fantastic item is this Champagne Bubbles Lathering Sugar Scrub! This is a 2.5 oz foaming sugar scrub by Black Tie Market, the card says this has a retail value of $8.75. But on their website you can actually get this size for $5.00 or a 10oz for $18.00. The box and bow added a cute little feature while unwrapping it.

“Among the whispering and the champagne and the stars.” F. Scott Fitzgerald (The Great Gatsby)

IMG_0020

 

The wearable that was included in this box, was this little headband. It is a 20’s inspired art deco headband, with a retail value of $12.95.

 

 

IMG_0019

One of the last few items in the box, is this Great Gatsby magnet. Which is the same quote that they used for the sugar scrub description in the card. I really like this quote, and it looks very nice on my fridge. This has a retail value of $2.95. I found similar magnets on Cafe Press for about $4.99.  There was also a sugar daddy in the box, but my husband ate it before I could take a picture of it. It has a retail value of about $0.50. I was wondering why they put a sugar daddy inside the box, but after reading the description thought that it was a very creative idea! I wouldn’t have thought to include one, but since it was invented in 1925 it fits perfectly.

IMG_0022

So of course, I like to always end with a picture of all the items (minus the Sugar Daddy). The pillow case makes a very good backdrop for all of the items! Overall, this box has a value of about $51.35, not bad for a $35 subscription box.

If you received this box, did you like your items? If you’ve read the book already, what did you think?

Next month’s theme is…drum roll, please…

Screen Shot 2016-07-28 at 12.05.24 AM.png

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

2 thoughts on “Lit-Cube June Review

Leave a Reply

