Posted in Subscription Box, Young Adult

June Uppercasebox Review

It’s that time of the month again! A new box from Uppercase by Lisa Parkin!

Every month you receive:

  • a brand new hardcover book, the book is either signed or you receive a signed bookplate,
  • 1-2 high quality bookish items,
  • Uppercase reading experience with exclusive content,
  • and a special note!

You can choose from two different plans:

Expert plan: comes with everything above for only $23/month plus $6 shipping and handling;

IMG_0699Book exclusive plan: comes with everything above except the 1-2 bookish items for only $17/month plus s/h.

All the items are inside this cute little bag. After awhile, I am going to need to figure out a way to recycle them! This month, I received a signed book, a tote bag, a Harry Potter item, a bookmark, and a letter from Lisa!

 

 

 

The book this month is My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows.

Here is the Amazon blurb:IMG_0004

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England.

Like that could go wrong

This book is regularly priced at $17.99, but on Amazon you can purchase it for $10.58. This book is also signed by all three of the authors! For me, this adds value to the book, especially since I really like all three of them!

Check out my review of the book here!

IMG_0008

 

Inside the case is also a letter detailing all of the items inside the box, as well as a personal message from Lisa on why she choose this book. It just makes the box a little more personal than just receiving a regular subscription. There is also a bookmark that once you reach a certain page, you can go to the website, enter the code that unlocks the exclusive content for that part of the book.

IMG_0006

This box came with this really cute tote bag designed by Risa Rodil. This is an Uppercase exclusive, so she doesn’t have this particular one on her website, but she does have some really cute ones. On her site they retail for $18.77. If you are an Uppercase subscriber, then you can purchase this as an add on for only $12.99.

 

IMG_0007

A My Lady Jane bookmark. Which I will definitely use once I start reading the book! I don’t know who designed the bookmark, so it’s very hard to put a value to it, so I’ll just guesstimate a $1.

 

 

IMG_0005

The last item in the box, is this Deathly Hallows wooden magnet from Juniper & Ivy Designs. I love all things Harry Potter, so this was a welcomed surprise! You can purchase this particular magnet on their website for $8. On Uppercase, you can actually purchase this for $6.99. This will make a very cute addition on my fridge!

 

 

IMG_0009Here is a picture of all of the items included in this month’s Uppercase box! Not bad. For a $29 subscription, this box retailed approximately to $35. Ideally, I would like for my items to retail a bit more than $6 above the subscription cost, but I really like the items so it is okay.

You can check out my other reviews of Uppercase here.

Here you can check out my other reviews of book subscription boxes.

If you received this box, what did you think of this months items?

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

2 thoughts on “June Uppercasebox Review

Leave a Reply

