Posted in Uncategorized

Father’s Day 2016

Father’s Day is this weekend and I don’t have a gift yet! As usual, I never know what I am going to get my dad. Normally, I’ll get him something Harley Davidson related or a Star Trek book. This year, I decided to break away from the usual and get him something different. So a little research is in order of Father’s Day appropriate books.

Alright so here’s my list of possible Father’s Day appropriate books:

For the science guy:

the gene
The Gene: An Intimate History  by Siddhartha Mukherjee, published May 2016 by Scribner.

Siddhartha Mukherjee has a written a biography of the gene as deft, brilliant, and illuminating as his extraordinarily successful biography of cancer. Weaving science, social history, and personal narrative to tell us the story of one of the most important conceptual breakthroughs of modern times, Mukherjee animates the quest to understand human heredity and its surprising influence on our lives, personalities, identities, fates, and choices.

 

Unstoppable: Harnessing Science to Change the World by Bill Nye, published November 2015 by St. Martin Press.unstoppable

In UNSTOPPABLE, Bill Nye crystallizes and expands the message for which he is best known and beloved. That message is that with a combination of optimism and scientific curiosity, all obstacles become opportunities, and the possibilities of our world become limitless. With a scientist’s thirst for knowledge and an engineer’s vision of what can be, Bill Nye sees today’s environmental issues not as insurmountable, depressing problems but as chances for our society to rise to the challenge and create a cleaner, healthier, smarter world. We need not accept that transportation consumes half our energy, and that two-thirds of the energy you put into your car is immediately thrown away out the tailpipe. We need not accept that dangerous emissions are the price we must pay for a vibrant economy and a comfortable life. Above all, we need not accept that we will leave our children a planet that is dirty, overheated, and depleted of resources. As Bill shares his vision, he debunks some of the most persistent myths and misunderstandings about global warming. When you are done reading, you’ll be enlightened and empowered. Chances are, you’ll be smiling, too, ready to join Bill and change the world.

For the father that is more interesting in cooking:

bobby flayBobby Flay’s Barbecue Addiction by Bobby Flay, published April 2013, by Potter/TenSpeed/Harmony. I love watching all of his shows on the Food Network Channel! Since my dad loves to grill, this would be perfect for him! If he didn’t already have so many cookbooks, and that he hardly uses them =/

 Here is everything you need for a great backyard bash: pitchers of cold drinks, such as Sparkling Bourbon Lemonade, and platters of starters to share, like Grilled Shrimp Skewers with Cilantro-Mint Chutney, and inventive sides, including New Potato-Corn Chowder Salad.

How about the Stephen King fan?SK

End of Watch (Bill Hodges Series #3) by Stephen King, published June 2016 by Scribner. Although, my dad is a big science fiction fan, he will sometimes read a good horror fiction here and there. This is the third book in the series, so if I get him this, I’ll have to buy him the first two books. But since it is a trilogy, it will make a nice box set!

In End of Watch, Stephen King brings the Hodges trilogy to a sublimely terrifying conclusion, combining the detective fiction of Mr. Mercedes and Finders Keepers with the heart-pounding, supernatural suspense that has been his bestselling trademark. The result is an unnerving look at human vulnerability and chilling suspense. No one does it better than King.

For the dads who think they are comedians:

batdadBatDad: A Paradoy by Blake Wilson, published May 2016 by Crown/Archetype. I love his videos that pop up on Facebook, so I am sure my Dad will get a kick out of this!

Life as an everyday superhero when your Batmobile is a minivan, the villains you face are your crazy kids, and your Bat Cave is always covered in piles of dirty laundry. 

 

So ultimately what did I end up buying my dad? I’ll most likely end up choosing the Bobby Flay cookbook (and make him grill me something when I go visit), and the BatDad book (just for laughs). I’ll probably even throw in a Star Trek: the Next Generation book in there, just because I know he’ll really enjoy it.

What are/did you get your dads for Father’s Day?

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

