Posted in Fiction, Movies

Me Before You Book vs. Movie

Yesterday, I finally saw the Me Before You movie! I read the book a few weeks ago, so you can check out my review of it here.

I was fairly pleased that they kept most of the book in the movie. There was obviously some differences, but it wasn’t that big of a deal (at least to me). The main differences that I noticed were; one-Will’s sister was absent from the movie,  two- Will’s fathers affair was nonexistent, and a few others that I’ll mention below.

What did bother me was the fact that Patrick wasn’t as present in the movie as in the book. That could be because I really really like Matthew Lewis. Okay, you caught me, it’s because he was in Harry Potter <3. In the book, Patrick was not just a class A jerk but he really only noticed Lou when Will got between them. Sure, they dated for a long time, but it was as if he got comfortable in their relationship and just took it for granted. In the movie, Patrick was still a jerk, but it seemed as if he was more oblivious to what was going on and just wanted to run. I could go on, but since he was barely in the film there isn’t much else I can compare. Except, that I wish Neville (sorry I mean Patrick) had more screen time just so I could look at him!

Sam Claflin was an amazing Will! He did a fantastic job and I wouldn’t have wanted to see anyone else in that role.

Alright, now on to Lou. I expected some crazy outfits, but this was over the top.  I know she was going for artsy, but this was…I don’t even know how to describe it. It was the like costume department just bought every item that they liked in a thrift store, and threw it on her. Being out there is one thing, but at least match your colors or something. Also, I realized that the movie left out a big aspect of Lou’s past. I won’t ruin it for people who haven’t read the book, but a life event happened near the castle and Lou didn’t like going near it. In the movie, she had no problems and they never mentioned it. I thought that that particular scene in the book helped solidify Will and Lou’s relationship. He was able to understand her in a new light, and help her get over the past so that she could grow beyond it. But alas, that was not to be in the movie. I also liked the fact that everyone in the movie wasn’t as mean to Lou as they were in the books. In the books, I felt so bad for her I just wanted her to run away from her family and never look back.

Overall, I think I enjoyed the movie a little bit more than the book. The acting was great, and I love the cast.

15507958

MV5BMTQ2NjE4NDE2NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTcwNDE5NzE@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_

 

 

Which version did you like better, the movie or the book?

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

