Posted in Arc, NetGalley, Young Adult

Withering Rose Review

Withering Rose by Kaitlyn Davis26805518

Published: May 17, 2016

Book 2 out of the Once Upon a Curse series

I received an arc of this book by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

Goodreads Summary:

What if Beauty was cursed, and the Beast was the only one who could save her? Don’t miss WITHERING ROSE, a dystopian romance from bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis that reimagines the classic fairy tale of Beauty & The Beast.

“As the heat finally disappeared, I felt the bloom blossom in the very core of my soul, a rose just like my name–a ticking clock hidden behind a façade of beauty. From that moment on, my life would become a countdown, and all I could do was wait and watch as the petals of time slowly started to fall.”

Omorose Bouchene has a secret–magic. There’s only one problem. At the age of seven, an earthquake struck, catapulting her into a new world. A land made of skyscrapers and cell phones. Fast cars and fluorescent lights. A land where magic isn’t supposed to exist and anyone who wields it is the enemy.

But after ten years of hiding, she’s desperate to find a place where she can be free. Because all magic comes with a curse, and her curse is time–every ounce of power she uses strips days off of her life. The clock is winding down, and the only option left is to escape to the realm of the Beast. But the king of monsters isn’t what he seems. And the more Omorose opens her heart, the more she comes to realize that the only person she may need to fear is herself.

I received this arc from NetGalley without having read the first book. I was a little nervous about reading a sequel in a series, but what sold me was the fact that the books are inter-connected but stand-alones. After reading the book, I felt like I wasn’t missing a lot from the universe even though I didn’t read the first book. So that was nice.

After reading the Lunar ChroniclesI kind of have been reading a lot more fairy-tale reimaginings lately. I have to say, I really enjoyed this book. At first, I thought that the main character wasn’t going to be up to par but she proved me wrong. I didn’t like that Omorose just jumped to conclusions all the time without thinking of the situation, but she quickly grew out of that. In the beginning she was a very weak and meek person, having to hide who she is, but throughout the story Omorose quickly grew into the person she was supposed to have been if the earthquake that changed everything didn’t happen. (I kind of wish that the earthquake event was explained a little bit more, especially since it was the main event that collided Omorose’s world and Earth together.)

“‘Dance with me,’ he whispers. My gaze drops to his. I don’t understand the pain in those eyes, but I understand the hope. And it guides me to him.”

Cole was a great beast and I enjoyed reading his story! I liked that Cole and Omorose’s love wasn’t instantaneous, but grew slowly as they grew to trust each other. They each have secrets and past experiences that hinder them in the beginning, but they slowly got over it. Their relationship felt natural and the chemistry was palpable throughout the whole book!

Overall, this was a quick and easy read. This book followed the original story fairly well, but obviously with a whole new twist to it. The characters were enjoyable, the plot was action packed and moved somewhat quickly, and the setting was original. I couldn’t immediately tell the ending, but I was hoping for Omorose and Cole the entire time!

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

