Posted in Subscription Box, Young Adult

May Uppercase Subscription Review

This is my very first #UppercaseBox from Lisa Parkin and I was so excited to open it up to see what new book I get to add to my TBR shelf!

Every month you receive a brand new hardcover book, the book is either signed or you receive a signed bookplate, 1-2 high quality bookish items, Uppercase reading experience with exclusive content, and a special note! You can choose from two different plans:

Expert plan: comes with everything above for only $23/month plus s/h;

Book exclusive plan: comes with everything above except the 1-2 bookish items for only $17/month plus s/h.

As you can see everything came inside this little drawstring bag, so cute! This months book is Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes. This book has a retail value of  $17.99, but you can find it on Amazon for $10.22. This book is also signed by the author, which I think adds value to it.

Goodreads summary:

Maguire is bad luck. No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when Maguire is around. Like that time the rollercoaster jumped off its tracks. Or the time the house next door caught on fire. Or that time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash—and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch.

It’s safest for Maguire to hide out in her room, where she can cause less damage and avoid meeting new people who she could hurt. But then she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star. Jordy is confident, talented, and lucky, and he’s convinced he can help Maguire break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for Jordy is to stay away. But it turns out staying away is harder than she thought.

From author Paula Stokes comes a funny and poignant novel about accepting the past, embracing the future, and learning to make your own luck.

As soon as I have a chance to read this, I’ll make sure to leave a copy of my review here. 😉

Update (7/22/16)-I have finally read the book, and I loved it! Check out my review here!

These two items are part of the subscription, and I believe they don’t add any monetary value to the box but are pretty cool features. The picture on the left is a letter that tells you what you can expect in your box as well as a note from Lisa. The bookmark on the right is a read along bookmark with codes for when you hit certain pages – and you’ll get questions, polls, videos, etc. that go along with the book.

Sorry for the glares in the pictures, but you get the gist of what the items are. On the left are book paradise postcard set by Eric Nyffeler (an Uppercase exclusive). And on the right, we have Girl Against the Universe sticker and bookmark!

IMG_0700.jpg

Lastly, we have 2 oz loose leaf tea blend from NovelTea Tins. I am not a tea person, but I know someone who is who would love this!

IMG_0706

Verdict: Overall, I really like the items inside this subscription. The book is intriguing and I can’t wait to read it! Although, I might not use all of the items, they will be perfect gifts for people who love to read just as much as I do (and who like tea).

What do you think of this months box?

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

