Posted in NetGalley, Young Adult

Ophelia Adrift Review

Ophelia Adrift by Helen Goltz30054281

Expected Publication: July 1st, 2016 by Atlas Productions

Goodreads Summary:

In her wildest dreams, Ophelia Montague never imagined she would leave the city, her friends, her school and move to a seaside village. But when her parents die in an accident, that’s just where she finds herself – ensconced in a rambling house on the beach, with her uncle Sebastian, his boarder – nineteen-year-old Adam Ferrier, and two Great Dane dogs named after shipwrecks. By the ocean’s edge she meets Jack Denham who seems to command the sea and the moon—and if he has his way—Ophelia, too.

This book probably contained the number one worst insta-love romance, I have ever read in a YA book. Not only does Ophelia fall instantly in love with Jack, without even knowing him, she is “consumed” by him and gets depressed if she thinks he is with another girl. And then there’s Jack. Who knew who she was before she even set a foot in town, and he was already claiming her as his soulmate. Crazy.

The plot itself was pretty slow, and basically nonexistent. We start off with Ophelia moving to a new town after the death of her parents, and then she meets a lot of new people. While being stalked the entire time by Jack, but of course she doesn’t know that. But thanks to his narration, we get to hear it all.

“I wanted to hold her, absorb her, crush her to me and become one, feel her around me; I have to own her.”    

And this is just one example, there are plenty of other inner thoughts from Jack that border this psychotic, obsessive line of thinking. Then all of a sudden after he finally shows himself to Ophelia, Jack decides that he has to disappear from her life. Who was already depressed about her parents deaths, and is now even more depressed because he broke her instantly in love heart.

“He might come tonight. Maybe I should just join my parents…I could be buried at sea. Not a healthy thought, but I didn’t have many bright thoughts at the moment.”

I do have to say that the plot twist (if you can call it that)  with Jack was pretty great. Although I could guess what it was in the beginning, it was still a refreshing idea for a story. I also enjoyed the mystery of the shipwrecks surrounding the area, the little that was in the story for it to be part of the plot. After a whole lot of nothing in the book, the climax happened way too quickly, and was over before I could register what happened. I feel this was a wasted moment, we slowly built up to this climax, and then all of a sudden we find out Jack’s true intentions? (Well, really we knew it from the beginning. But Ophelia didn’t) On top of that, we didn’t even get to read it from Ophelia’s perspective, it was from Holly’s, who didn’t really do much.

Aside from all of the plot issues, it was an interesting book. It had a good premise, and after some editing I think could be a great series. Since this is an arc, I am hoping that the final version is better!

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars.

This arc was provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

One thought on “Ophelia Adrift Review

Leave a Reply

