Posted in Paranormal Romance, Supernatural, Young Adult

Velvet-Temple West

 

Velvet: A Swoon Novel (Kindle Edition)Velvet

Author: Temple West

asin: B00Q4TH2MK

format: Kindle Edition

Published May 21st 2015 by Macmillan Children’s Books

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Summary:

First rule of dealing with hot vampire bodyguards? Don’t fall in love.

After losing both her parents before age seventeen, aspiring designer Caitlin Holte feels like her whole world has been turned upside down, and that was before the terrifying encounter with a supernatural force. Then, she learns that her hot bad-boy neighbor, Adrian—who might have just saved her life—is actually a half-demon vampire.

Suddenly Caitlin is stuck with a vampire bodyguard who feels that the best way to protect her is to become her pretend boyfriend. Trouble is, Caitlin is starting to fall in love for real, while Adrian can never love a human. Caitlin trusts Adrian to keep her safe from his demon father, but will he be able to protect her heart?

Synopsis:

A recently orphaned girl moves in with her aunt and uncle in a little remote town in New York. She is discovered by a demon and the vampire offspring saves her and becomes her bodyguard.

I was very quickly drawn into Cait’s world and was right with her through all of her roller coaster emotions. Caitlin is a very sarcastic, roll with the punches, 17-year-old who has to learn how to grieve the death of her mother. In the beginning she is very depressed and angry and throughout the book we see a lot of personal growth. Okay, so the personal growth really didn’t happen until near the end but that is alright. At least she changed and didn’t stay stagnant the entire time.

Adrian, on the other hand, is the perfect boy next door who just happens to be a vampire. I was afraid that we were going to get the typical vampire story that has been over done in the YA genre. I was pleasantly surprised that this was not the case. Adrian tries to be a good guy, and he explains everything to Caitlin as best as he could. Although, I felt as if this could have been explained in a better way, than throwing out all the scientific terminology and then dumbing it down for Cait. I felt as if the author was saying that Caitlin is incapable of understanding even the simplest of explanations without having to dumb it down to her level (although that isn’t really what I think I want to say, but I can’t think of the correct way right now). Adrians scientific explanations sounded very convoluted. I understood that Cait is more into sewing than science, but he could have still explained everything to her without the scientific terms, or dumbing it down to a two year olds level.

“Science words,” I warned. “When you say ‘hemoglobin’ I just think of little Irish tricksters who live in caves, or Lord of the Rings.”
“You mean ‘goblin’?”
“Yes.”

Okay, new topic…

The plot. It didn’t move quickly, but I didn’t feel as if it was taking forever to reach the climax. I enjoyed the pace and most of the little scenes that led up to the big moment. After the big moment happened, I was left wondering what the heck happened! We were given a lot of questions and very little answers. So Caitlin is special, okay why? Adrian was supposed to fail, okay why? Caitlin spends hours outside in the snow, and doesn’t freeze to death? Okay…

“Deal with my weird; I’m dealing with yours.”

When I found out that this was Twilight fan fiction, it all made sense. I could finally see all the parallels between the two.

1. Remote town in a big state. Check

2. Girl meets perfectly looking loner boy. Check

3. Boy turns out to be a vampire. Check

4. Girl and boy start to have a relationship. Check

5. Boy has to save girl from another supernatural. Check

6. Girl and boy falls in love. Check

7. Vampire sparkles. Uncheck

Thank god Adrian doesn’t sparkle. I would have stopped reading at that point no matter how much I enjoyed the book. I did enjoy the Twilight novels, but that was the one big aspect that always bothered me. Vampires just shouldn’t sparkle. Ever.

I really enjoyed the banter between Caitlin and Adrian, it had me laughing to myself quite a bit throughout the entire novel.

“I scoffed. “Why would I fall in love with you? You’re just a hot, closet-nerd vampire with a bazillion dollars and a Harley. There’s absolutely nothing attractive about you.”
“I’m repulsive, I know.”

Overall, I really enjoyed this novel. I would recommend this book to someone else, especially if you like vampires. The author said that she wrote this book to fix all the problems she had with vampires, and for the most part I agree with her.

 

Author:

I am currently working on my master's degree in Environmental Science. I am an avid reader as well as a movie enthusiast! I currently live at the bottom of Texas with my husband and three dogs.

Leave a Reply

